Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th November 2011, 04:51 AM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

just upgraded to F16

now I cannot boot to XP Professional SP3 in spite of the fact it shows on the list.

I can boot to F16!

The grub.conf under F15 worked great after a big effort


F16 grub.conf:

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Upgrade to Fedora 16 (Verne)
kernel /upgrade/vmlinuz preupgrade repo=hd::/var/cache/yum/preupgrade ks=hd:UUID=3e99329c-4f3e-4968-94c7-a8ab3a7cc0e5:/upgrade/ks.cfg
initrd /upgrade/initrd.img
title XP Professional SP3
# root (hd1,0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
root (hd1,0)
chainloader +1


grub.conf used successfully under F15:

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.35.13-92.fc14.i686)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.35.13-92.fc14.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
initrd /initramfs-2.6.35.13-92.fc14.i686.img
title Upgrade to Fedora 15 (Lovelock)
kernel /upgrade/vmlinuz preupgrade repo=hd::/var/cache/yum/preupgrade ks=hd:UUID=3e99329c-4f3e-4968-94c7-a8ab3a7cc0e5:/upgrade/ks.cfg
initrd /upgrade/initrd.img
title Fedora (2.6.35.13-91.fc14.i686)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.35.13-91.fc14.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
initrd /initramfs-2.6.35.13-91.fc14.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.35.12-90.fc14.i686)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.35.12-90.fc14.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_landon/lv_swap rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
initrd /initramfs-2.6.35.12-90.fc14.i686.img
title Windows
# root (hd1,0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
root (hd1,0)
chainloader +1

[B]extra note...the grub screen is colorless. During upgrade I had a flash drive and a 1 terabyte external drive plugged in

the grub message says that XP Prof is on sdc1...no sense/B]

I have
(1) XP Prof on scsi 0
(2) F16 on scsi 1

Last edited by clariceoshea; 20th November 2011 at 06:29 AM. Reason: added former grub.conf
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st November 2011, 12:02 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,414
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

What does # fdisk -l report?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2011, 04:52 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

by chance did your upgrade to F16 also update grub to grub2? If so, then /boot/grub/grub.conf is no longer used. it uses /boot/grub2/grub.cfg instead.

your grub.conf only has the preupgrade kernel, not any F16 kernel, so I believe you did get updated to grub2.

Try running:

Code:
su -
(root password)

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
That should recreate your /boot/grub2/grub.cfg and have the XP entry correctly included in it.

Last edited by DBelton; 21st November 2011 at 04:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2011, 06:44 PM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

thanks working on it this morning...will report

just to clarify lest things get worse

right now I have a colorless grub screen on boot

and I can boot to F16 which is working great

How does on tell if one has grub2?
answer:
JUST CHECKED after reboot, current grub screen shows grub 1.99

The current grub screen show 3 entries
(1) f16 linux 3.1.1
(2) f16 recovery linux 3.1.1
(3) XP Prof

Last edited by clariceoshea; 21st November 2011 at 07:23 PM. Reason: rephrase
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2011, 07:33 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

You are running grub2.

You should have a file named /boot/grub2/grub.cfg (this is the "replacement" for your /boot/grub/grub.conf) and it should look something similar to this:

Code:
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  insmod vbe
  insmod vga
  insmod video_bochs
  insmod video_cirrus
}

set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Fedora (3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.PAE)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd1,gpt1)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0cf6bfa2-74b2-4c80-8dfb-9b3b1a8bbbd5
	echo 'Loading Fedora (3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE)'
	linux	/vmlinuz-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.PAE root=UUID=10dc50c0-f981-49c9-8be0-7da4c58bd49c ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
	echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd /initramfs-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.PAE.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora (3.1.1-1.fc16.i686.PAE)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd1,gpt1)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0cf6bfa2-74b2-4c80-8dfb-9b3b1a8bbbd5
	echo 'Loading Fedora (3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE)'
	linux	/vmlinuz-3.1.1-1.fc16.i686.PAE root=UUID=10dc50c0-f981-49c9-8be0-7da4c58bd49c ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
	echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd /initramfs-3.1.1-1.fc16.i686.PAE.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora (3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='(hd1,gpt1)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0cf6bfa2-74b2-4c80-8dfb-9b3b1a8bbbd5
	echo 'Loading Fedora (3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE)'
	linux	/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE root=UUID=10dc50c0-f981-49c9-8be0-7da4c58bd49c ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
	echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd /initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE.img
}
menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sda1)" --class windows --class os {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ntfs
	set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root CADC8BADDC8B927D
	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###
### END /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###
What probably happened is the flash drive you had plugged in when you installed caused the device naming to be different, and it created your grub.cfg file to match that device naming. When you rebooted, then the device for your Windows XP drive was wrong.

The command I gave above will scan the drives looking for different operating systems you have installed and re-create your /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file with the correct information.

Code:
su -
(root password)

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st November 2011, 07:46 PM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

thanks a million!!! on it will report
the preupgrade to F16 was super simple

giving little opportunity for me to mess it up

still what could I have done differently???

I suppose I use rescue and chroot as in the past to run this command
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st November 2011, 08:04 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

You can run the grub2-mkconfig command booted into your regular F16 system from your hard drive if you can (run as root user). Or you can also run it from the rescue and a chroot if you wish, but it's more trouble to do it that way

About the only thing you could have done differently to make things easier during the preupgrade would have been to have all the devices exactly as you would when you are running your F16 system. Then your device naming would have had more chances of matching up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st November 2011, 08:41 PM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

while driving to town just now, it all came together

removed the flash and 1 TB external

sorry didn't work...get flashing cursor upper left screen

grub menu now shows XP Prof on sda1 (scsi 0)

fdisk -l now reports nothing

maybe I should do a fixmbr



grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.img
Found Microsoft Windows XP Professional on /dev/sda1
done

Last edited by clariceoshea; 21st November 2011 at 08:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st November 2011, 08:58 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

If you normally run with the external and the flash drive connected, then you should update your grub2.cfg to match.. If you normally run without them attached, then it should be configured to match that.

It's a simple matter to reconfigure grub2 if you do change things and it the config is wrong, though. just run the grub2-mkconfig command above and it should correct things.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st November 2011, 10:22 PM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

while driving to town just now, it all came together

removed the flash and 1 TB external

sorry didn't work...get flashing cursor upper left screen

grub menu now shows XP Prof on sda1 (scsi 0)

fdisk -l now reports nothing

maybe I should do a fixmbr



grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.img
Found Microsoft Windows XP Professional on /dev/sda1
done
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st November 2011, 10:36 PM
VernDog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 313
linuxchrome
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

"fdisk -l" needs to be done as root.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st November 2011, 10:59 PM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

[root@clarice ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 73.4 GB, 73407868928 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 8924 cylinders, total 143374744 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x145b145a

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 63 143347994 71673966 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda4 * 0 0 0 0 Empty

Disk /dev/sdb: 36.7 GB, 36703933440 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4462 cylinders, total 71687370 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000b4b16

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 2048 1026047 512000 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 1026048 71686143 35330048 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/mapper/vg_clarice-lv_root: 34.1 GB, 34091302912 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4144 cylinders, total 66584576 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/mapper/vg_clarice-lv_root doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/mapper/vg_clarice-lv_swap: 2080 MB, 2080374784 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 252 cylinders, total 4063232 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/mapper/vg_clarice-lv_swap doesn't contain a valid partition table
[root@clarice ~]#
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd November 2011, 01:06 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

It appears that your actual boot order changed.

When you installed Fedora your Fedora drive was /dev/sda and your Windows drive was /dev/sdb

Now when you boot it looks like Windows is /dev/sda and Fedora is /dev/sdb

After running your grub2-mkconfig, you probably now need to go back and re-install grub2 to the bootsector on the drive you are booting from.

(also for some reason on your Windows drive, your empty /dev/sda4 partition is the one that is set to be bootable, but you have Windows installed into /dev/sda1 (I don't think that makes a difference to grub2, but it would to the Windows bootloader.))
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd November 2011, 05:32 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,414
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

Quote:
Originally Posted by VernDog View Post
"fdisk -l" needs to be done as root.
Yeah, sorry, I should have explained that.

# is the prompt that root gets in a terminal, while a regular user gets the $ prompt.

So when you see
Code:
# command
that means run the command as root.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23rd November 2011, 12:20 AM
clariceoshea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: grub under f16 doesn't boot to MS XP Professional SP3

ran boot_info script

here are results.txt


Boot Info Script 0.60 from 17 May 2011


============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

=> Windows is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda.
=> Grub2 (v1.99) is installed in the MBR of /dev/sdb and looks at sector 1 of
the same hard drive for core.img. core.img is at this location and looks
for ?? on this drive.

sda1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows XP
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System: Windows XP
Boot files: /boot.ini /ntldr /NTDETECT.COM

sdb1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ext4
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:
Operating System:
Boot files: /grub/menu.lst /grub/grub.conf /grub2/core.img

sdb2: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: LVM2_member
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:

vg_landon-lv_root': __________________________________________________ __________

File system:
Boot sector type: Unknown
Boot sector info:
Mounting failed: mount: unknown filesystem type ''

vg_landon-lv_swap': __________________________________________________ __________

File system:
Boot sector type: Unknown
Boot sector info:
Mounting failed: mount: unknown filesystem type ''
mount: unknown filesystem type ''

============================ Drive/Partition Info: =============================

Drive: sda __________________________________________________ ___________________

Disk /dev/sda: 73.4 GB, 73407868928 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 8924 cylinders, total 143374744 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

/dev/sda1 63 143,347,994 143,347,932 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS


Drive: sdb __________________________________________________ ___________________

Disk /dev/sdb: 36.7 GB, 36703933440 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4462 cylinders, total 71687370 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

/dev/sdb1 * 2,048 1,026,047 1,024,000 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 1,026,048 71,686,143 70,660,096 8e Linux LVM


"blkid" output: __________________________________________________ ______________

Device UUID TYPE LABEL

/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root 22af63bf-d389-4a0e-bd68-aae97ba58248 ext4 _Fedora-14-i686-
/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_swap 1b2517a6-b959-4c29-8ffb-228a8a649557 swap
/dev/sda1 0A60CFE260CFD31D ntfs Iomega HDD
/dev/sdb1 3e99329c-4f3e-4968-94c7-a8ab3a7cc0e5 ext4
/dev/sdb2 4h650g-mxcM-0mz0-Tgnn-N1hE-s1c8-gZ8qej LVM2_member

========================= "ls -R /dev/mapper/" output: =========================

/dev/mapper:
control
vg_landon-lv_root
vg_landon-lv_swap

================================ Mount points: =================================

Device Mount_Point Type Options

/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root / ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=or dered)
/dev/sdb1 /boot ext4 (rw,relatime,seclabel,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=or dered)


================================ sda1/boot.ini: ================================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

============================= sdb1/grub/grub.conf: =============================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Upgrade to Fedora 16 (Verne)
kernel /upgrade/vmlinuz preupgrade repo=hd::/var/cache/yum/preupgrade ks=hd:UUID=3e99329c-4f3e-4968-94c7-a8ab3a7cc0e5:/upgrade/ks.cfg
initrd /upgrade/initrd.img
title XP Professional SP3
# root (hd1,0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
root (hd1,0)
chainloader +1
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=================== sdb1: Location of files loaded by Grub: ====================

GiB - GB File Fragment(s)

0.014654160 = 0.015734784 grub/grub.conf 1
0.014654160 = 0.015734784 grub/menu.lst 1
0.015676498 = 0.016832512 grub/stage2 1
0.271307945 = 0.291314688 initramfs-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686.img 2
0.240736008 = 0.258488320 initrd-plymouth.img 1
0.239140511 = 0.256775168 vmlinuz-3.1.1-2.fc16.i686 1

======================== Unknown MBRs/Boot Sectors/etc: ========================

Unknown BootLoader on vg_landon-lv_root'


Unknown BootLoader on vg_landon-lv_swap'



=============================== StdErr Messages: ===============================

One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root': No such file or directory
hexdump: stdin: Bad file descriptor
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root': No such file or directory
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_root': Bad file descriptor
One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
One or more specified logical volume(s) not found.
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_swap': No such file or directory
hexdump: stdin: Bad file descriptor
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_swap': No such file or directory
hexdump: /dev/mapper/vg_landon-lv_swap': Bad file descriptor
mdadm: No arrays found in config file or automatically
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, f16, grub, professional, sp3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grub problem: After installing Fedora 15, I can't boot win xp from grub oliveryty Using Fedora 12 21st July 2011 12:21 PM
[SOLVED] Could not open the file /boot/grub/grub.conf Obscurity Using Fedora 10 1st September 2010 04:39 PM
You May Need Professional Help Evil_Bert Wibble 25 21st June 2008 04:57 AM
Grub boot loader issues? (stupid grub!) Cooldan1 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 30th July 2007 03:10 AM
FC3 and Windows XP Professional Dual boot installation problems provo1234 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 9 2nd December 2004 08:29 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:14 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Varkala Travel Photos - Seaside, Florida Travel Photos