Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 6th December 2011, 08:46 PM
isavedalex Offline

macossafari
Fedora Media Server Help

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum but I am desperate for help and didn't know where to write this!

I'm new to Linux so please excuse me if I miss something obvious.

I've recently installed Fedora 16 on my old Dell machine with the idea of it becoming our central media server (providing to 2 macs and a windows pc) The software i wanted to use is something called 'Plex Media Server' i have found and installed RPM's for Plex so that it now shows up in my services.

But one of the main requirements for Plex is Avahi, I have verified using Yum Update that I have the latest version of Avahi running but it is not showing in my services!

When I try and add it to my services it says that cannot find file or directory.

Further more the Fedora system shows up in the 'Finder Sidebar' in the Mac systems
But when i try to connect it asks me to check the connection as it's no longer available. (I did read somewhere that there was a problem with OSX lion connecting on afp but I've tested using a mac running OSX Snow Leopard and I'm having the same problem)

I've been franticly looking around the internet to solve this but don't know where to look next!

oh and I can connect via SSH in the command line, I have tried disabling the firewall and It is possible for me to connect to one of the Macs via the fedora system.

Thanks,

Alex
Old 6th December 2011, 09:13 PM
AndrewSerk Offline

linuxredhatfirefox
Re: Fedora Media Server Help

To start avahi-daemon and then enable for next boot run:

Code:
systemctl start avahi-daemon.service
systemctl enable avahi-daemon.service

link to systemd cheatsheet http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SysVin...emd_Cheatsheet
Hope this helps,
Old 6th December 2011, 09:46 PM
isavedalex Offline

macossafari

Thank you for your quick reply.

I just started the service