Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th December 2011, 08:39 AM
blacknred Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
windows_7ie
Question raid q

Hi,

I got RAID 1 on my machine.

Just checking my understanding to know what to expect... Could someone please confirm the below?

In the event of OS getting corrupted / fs issues or a partition going missing on one of the disks, it brings the system down (as the other disk will be a mirror of the corrupt copy for example) & so I still end up having to repair/reinstall OS ie there is no protection in those scenarios even though disks are mirrored., correct?

If a drive fails, the box will continue to be up & running because of RAID 1, right?

Thanks in advance

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th December 2011, 08:59 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,905
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: raid q

Yes - you are roughly correct. I assume you are talking about the Linux mdadm raid1.

If some rogue privileged program starts scribbling all over '/' through the normal filesys I/O calls - then you will have two copies of the scribbling and you have to repair or reinstall. If instead you have a bunch of sectors or the whole rive fail it should continue.

Yes RAID1 mirrors primarily are protection against a drive failure. It is NOT a backup ! It's normally two copies of the same thing (good or bad).
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th December 2011, 09:14 AM
blacknred Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
windows_7ie
Re: raid q

It's a hardware raid.
Thinking further this would be applicable if it is -say a slient corruption.
If your OS is totally knackered to the extent of unwritable, would the same be mirrored to the good disk? so effectively your dead in the water at that point?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mounting degraded RAID 5 from hardware raid into softare raid staffmm Servers & Networking 1 22nd October 2009 10:46 PM
Perc3Di SCSI RAID + Adaptec 2810SA RAID = Fatal Grub Error? LinuxOnTheEdge Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 19th March 2005 01:19 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:07 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Les Clayes-sous-Bois Travel Photos - Lons-le-Saunier - Lissone Instagram Photos