Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th December 2011, 09:02 PM
SycoChihuahua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

Hi Y'all,

Please bear with me here as this sounds like others having this issue. This one is unique. I have a Gigabyte MOBO GA-EP45-UD3R. Almost everything works great except that Fedora 16/FC16 will not see my second DVD drive. The Drives are TSSTcorp DVD Drives they look like some took laptop DVD Player/Writers and connected a race changer from laptop interface to IDE.

Driver and Chipset for the IDE/SATA channel is JMICRON this has the settings for RAID/IDE,IDE and AHCI. I have tried the following things
1) change different modes for the BIOS for this IDE/SATA channel
* RAID/IDE & AHCI show the drives as 0DD0: and 0DD1: like they could be raided drives and works in windows.
* IDE shows only the master cabled drive not the secondary.
* All cases shows up in windows just fine
2) Dmesg shows the following
[ 4.641354] pata_jmicron 0000:03:00.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
[ 4.641379] pata_jmicron 0000:03:00.1: setting latency timer to 64
[ 4.644789] scsi10 : pata_jmicron
[ 4.646480] scsi11 : pata_jmicron
[ 4.646871] ata9: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0xef00 ctl 0xee00 bmdma 0xeb00 irq 16
[ 4.646874] ata10: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0xed00 ctl 0xec00 bmdma 0xeb08 irq 16
[ 4.835519] ata9.00: ATAPI: TSSTcorpDVDR/RW TS-T632L, 1217, max UDMA/33
[ 4.878048] ata9.00: configured for UDMA/33
[ 4.892187] scsi 10:0:0:0: CD-ROM TSSTcorp DVDR/RW TS-T632L 1217 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[ 4.904712] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 24x/24x writer dvd-ram cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
[ 4.904716] cdrom: Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
[ 4.904864] sr 10:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0
[ 4.904941] sr 10:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg5 type 5
BUT Never does this for ata10:
3) Grub sure has changed since FC12 I tried the blacklist PATA_JMICRON and use all-generic-ide. But this does not seem to be an option for FC16.

4) There are no Jumpers on these drives to set master/slave it is only cable select. To help if any of you have an HP Blackbird002 then you know the drives I'm talking about. It looks like they SATA DVD running through an Ide interface.

I don't know what to try next. The original mobo was an ASuS and the chipset can configuration is the same as this Gigabyte. I have the I have the intel chipset for my HDD running 3gb/s SATA and they work fine.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th December 2011, 09:27 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,565
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

Let me suggest you drive down using
lshw-gui (package of the same name).
to see what the ide bus reports is present.
--
Also look in /proc/devices and see if there are two 'sr' entries.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th December 2011, 10:51 PM
SycoChihuahua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

Hi Stevea,

using the gui or lshw -C disks output shows only the one CDROM drive and the other SATA disks and cat /proc/devices shows only one sr.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2011, 04:32 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

From what I can tell, you are saying you have 2 DVD drives. Both DVD drives are the same, TS-T632L drives.

These are PATA laptop drives, connected with a converter to the standard 40 pin PATA connectors in a desktop.

They are jumpered as cable select.

But, I see from your log clip that the first is detected as UDMA/100, but it is set up as UDMA/33

From this, I would tell you to first check that your cable is a proper 40 pin/80 conductor UDMA 100 cable. If it isn't the 80 conductor cable, then your drive would be limited to UDMA/33 and cable select wouldn't work. (as you are seeing here.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th December 2011, 06:00 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,565
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

I can' agree w/ DB' this time. The UDMA133/100 is just an interface vs device eval.
Since both appear under Windoz (is tha right?) then the cable can't be the problem.

The lshw & /proc/devices show that there is no block device instantiated (it's not just a udev problem).


[ 4.646871] ata9: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0xef00 ctl 0xee00 bmdma 0xeb00 irq 16
[ 4.646874] ata10: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0xed00 ctl 0xec00 bmdma 0xeb08 irq 16


This is only bus enumeration and doesn't say than anything was found.

So I'd really like to see the rest of the dmesg info - but barring some intermittent connection - this smells like a kernel problem - probably in the jmicron driver. The buses *seem* to have been enumerated, one drive was registered, the other was not. Unless the missing messages say anything useful this needs a bugzilla.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th December 2011, 07:38 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

I missed seeing where they said that both drives appear in windows. If they both appear in windows, then it isn't the cable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th December 2011, 07:49 PM
SycoChihuahua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

Here is my complete dmesg (Attached)my_dmesg.log
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th December 2011, 02:21 AM
SycoChihuahua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

So I believe it is a kernel issue. I solved the issue with a work around which entailed buying some hardware. I bought 2 PATA/IDE to SATA converters and plug the drives into the 2 available SATA ports that run off the PATA JMICRON chipset.

Thanks for everyone trying to help me.


Regards,

SycoChihuahaua.

Last edited by SycoChihuahua; 27th December 2011 at 02:23 AM. Reason: removed some formatting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th December 2011, 02:33 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,565
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: JMICRON DVR/RW TS-T632L IDE ONLY 1 DRIVE Shows

Glad you have a solution - even if it's not ideal.

Your problem LOOKS like a kernel problem. You should report it at bugzilla.redhat.com so it gets fixed.
Your dmesg log and the output of 'lspci -nnk' to the bug report would be good.
That way it will get fixed.

best wishes
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drive, dvr or rw, ide, jmicron, sata, shows, tst632l

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd-info shows BD-ROM as DVD drive jeepguy1980 Hardware & Laptops 0 26th April 2011 11:38 PM
3.5 TB drive shows only as 1.32 TB rahulkats Hardware & Laptops 2 26th January 2006 05:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:10 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat