<---- template headericclude ----->
yum and Python - Page 5
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 61 to 73 of 73
  1. #61
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    PS: can I just try 'yum update sip' .. no risk?
    But when you did "yum update" before, it seemed to indicate all your packages were updated to latest available.
    Yes, or you could also try "yum reinstall sip".. shouldn't hurt anything either way.

    ---------- Post added at 01:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:52 PM ----------

    I have python 2.6 2 newly installed, shouldn't I look for a version python2-sip etc? even if I don't find on the net, they're not in the http://archive.fedoraproject.org/pub...tes/12/x86_64/ page.
    but should I run yum install python2-sip python2-sip-devel ?
    No. You shouldn't be making up package names in your head. you should be using YUM to show what is available to you from the F12 repos. Because some other packager outside of Fedora uses a package name like python2-whatever, doesn't mean that the Fedora python-whatever isn't the same thing.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    ok capito about the names... I was just trying...
    I did the reinstall command, no problem.

    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# yum reinstall sip
    Setting up Reinstall Process
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package sip.x86_64 0:4.10.2-1.fc12 set to be reinstalled
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution

    Dependencies Resolved

    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstalling:
    sip x86_64 4.10.2-1.fc12 updates 106 k

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstall 1 Package(s)

    Total download size: 106 k
    Installed size: 338 k
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Downloading Packages:
    sip-4.10.2-1.fc12.x86_64.rpm | 106 kB 00:00
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test
    Transaction Test Succeeded
    Running Transaction
    Installing : sip-4.10.2-1.fc12.x86_64 1/1

    Installed:
    sip.x86_64 0:4.10.2-1.fc12

    Complete!
    Now, I've just recompiled my toto program...this time, no message at the end and I can go on with make etc...but at the beginning I had :
    configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --with-pyqt4
    does it mean it simply ignores this program? strange since it was the one giving problems....
    I go on and I'll see what happens...

  3. #63
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    Not sure. Do you have PyQt4-devel installed?
    Maybe the option needs to be: --with-PyQt4... using the capital letters like in the package name.

    ---------- Post added at 03:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

    Does doing yum list *pyqt* show you any other PyQt4 packages you might want/need to install?
    On F16, I get ones like this:

    python3-PyQt4.i686
    python3-PyQt4.x86_64
    python3-PyQt4-devel.i686
    python3-PyQt4-devel.x86_64

    as well as the regular PyQt4 packages.

    Or maybe the option should be: --with-pyqt, without the "4".
    Last edited by PabloTwo; 19th December 2011 at 10:00 PM.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    Hi PabloTwo,

    Everything's ok now. I could reinstall the program completely.
    Unfortunalely, it's still missing an option, the problem I tried to solve before and led me to this situation with Python.

    I wonder if it's not coming from this PyQT; the first time I installed it, I don't know if I had this warning...
    Maybe I could also try to reinstall it with yum reisntall PyQt4 ? even if I already reinstalled it with rpm together with sip...but if it worked with sip...so why not?

    Thank you really so much...you saved me from reinstalling Fedora !!!

  5. #65
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    See the edits I just did to my previous post concerning pyqt4 option on the ./configure line.
    Yeah, having to reinstall sucks to get out of a jam. But in some cases, it might actually be faster.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    sorry, didn't read your post before sending mine.
    Here's what I get :

    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# yum list *pyqt*
    adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
    adobe-linux-x86_64 | 951 B 00:00
    fedora | 4.2 kB 00:00
    updates | 4.7 kB 00:00
    Installed Packages
    PyQt.x86_64 3.18.1-6.fc12 @updates
    PyQt4.x86_64 4.7.3-1.fc12 @updates
    PyQt4-devel.x86_64 4.7.3-1.fc12 @updates
    Available Packages
    PyQt-devel.i686 3.18.1-6.fc12 updates
    PyQt-devel.x86_64 3.18.1-6.fc12 updates
    PyQt-examples.x86_64 3.18.1-6.fc12 updates
    PyQt4.i686 4.7.3-1.fc12 updates
    PyQt4-devel.i686 4.7.3-1.fc12 updates
    plplot-pyqt.x86_64 5.9.5-1.fc12 fedora
    I should try to update the available packages update? like I did before with sip ore directly to a reinstall....don't want to do any new mistake, I prefer waiting for your reply !!!

    ---------- Post added at 10:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 PM ----------

    yes, I try with PyQt, PyQt4 or mqybe PyQt4-exec like for python...I put Python-exec

  7. #67
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    Yes, by all means, try reinstalling PyQt4 and PyQt4-devel and see if that makes a difference. It never hurts to reinstall any package, but it can sure help if something in that package is messed up.

    You can also use rpm to "verify" a packages integrity...
    Code:
    rpm -V PyQt4
    If nothing comes back, it's good. Sometimes you'll get a return, but it might not necessarily indicate that anything is actually wrong... you just need to know how to interpret the return codes.

    ---------- Post added at 04:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:08 PM ----------

    I would install PyQt-devel just to help cover all bets. Your program might not be looking for any of the older stuff, but it won't hurt to have it there if you have the disk space.

    ---------- Post added at 04:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:11 PM ----------

    I presume you have already checked in both the README and INSTALL files that came with the source code for any description of the valid configure options you can use. Sometimes, you can even do:

    ./configure --help

    And get a list of viable options, but not always.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    first,I've tried with different writing:
    I always had the same warning
    configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --with-PyQt4
    configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --with-PyQt/PyQt4_exec/pyqt/pyqt_exec


    second :
    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# rpm -V PyQt4
    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]#

    so nothing wrong with the package

    third:

    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# yum reinstall PyQt4
    Setting up Reinstall Process
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package PyQt4.x86_64 0:4.7.3-1.fc12 set to be reinstalled
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution

    Dependencies Resolved

    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstalling:
    PyQt4 x86_64 4.7.3-1.fc12 updates 2.5 M

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstall 1 Package(s)

    Total download size: 2.5 M
    Installed size: 13 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Downloading Packages:
    PyQt4-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64.rpm | 2.5 MB 00:04
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test
    Transaction Test Succeeded
    Running Transaction
    Installing : PyQt4-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64 1/1

    Installed:
    PyQt4.x86_64 0:4.7.3-1.fc12

    Complete!
    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# yum reinstall PyQt4-devel
    Setting up Reinstall Process
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package PyQt4-devel.x86_64 0:4.7.3-1.fc12 set to be reinstalled
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution

    Dependencies Resolved

    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstalling:
    PyQt4-devel x86_64 4.7.3-1.fc12 updates 7.8 M

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ================================================== =======================
    Reinstall 1 Package(s)

    Total download size: 7.8 M
    Installed size: 26 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Downloading Packages:
    PyQt4-devel-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64.rpm | 7.8 MB 00:12
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test
    Transaction Test Succeeded
    Running Transaction
    Installing : PyQt4-devel-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64 1/1

    Installed:
    PyQt4-devel.x86_64 0:4.7.3-1.fc12

    Complete!
    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# rpm -qa | pyqt
    bash: pyqt: command not found
    [root@mediceo6NB leroy]# rpm -qa | grep PyQt4
    PyQt4-devel-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64
    PyQt4-4.7.3-1.fc12.x86_64


    ---------- Post added at 10:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:26 PM ----------

    about the README and INSTALL file.
    I follow the instructions of the Saturne code for the commands
    For PyQt4, the first time I isntalled it, I installed it manually as written in the INSTALL or README I don't remember.
    But today when I checked them I reinstalled with yum and now again, yum reinstall Py...

    ---------- Post added at 10:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:28 PM ----------

    I'm following this:

    Installing the Kernel (ncs)
    ---------------------------

    - create a "build" directory (usually ncs-x.y.z.build)

    - from within the build directory, run the configure command:

    ../ncs-x.y.z/configure --prefix=$prefix/cs-$version \
    --with-bft=$prefix/cs-$version \
    --with-fvm=$prefix/cs-$version \
    --with-mei=$prefix/cs-$version \
    --with-prepro=$prefix/cs-$version

    Depending on the elements wanted, additional options can be added
    to the configure:
    --with-libxml2=... for Libxml2 support (compulsory for the Interface)
    --with-blas=... for BLAS
    --with-mpi=... for MPI
    --with-syrthes=... for SYRTHES coupling
    --with-python-exec=... for specific Python executable
    --with-pyqt4-exec=... for PyQt4 developper tools
    CC=... to specify the compiler if necessary
    (especially if mpicc should be used, to get
    the proper links to MPI libraries)
    FC=... to specify the Fortran compiler if necessary

    - run the "make" commands:
    make
    make install
    make clean


    ---------- Post added at 10:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:32 PM ----------

    I must find the path for PyQt4-exec

    ---------- Post added at 11:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:35 PM ----------

    In the prerequisites is also mentionned the program qt > 4.3
    I had already installed it but reinstalled it this time with yum and also the devel package.
    Same warning...

    So I reinstalled again PyQT4 qnd PyQt4-devel since they're linked to this qt program and this time, no warning....

    The compilation ( make, make install) was ok again...but still this problem of missing option in the code...
    So the problem was not coming from PyQt4 ...

    I'll see tomorrow...end of Linux for me for today ...

    Thank you so much again !!!

    PS: installing with rpm ivh xxxx.rpm (or link) is the same as yum install xxx or does the compilation put things in different directories?

    and why does whereis gives me answer for some programs and nothing for others as follow :

    [leroy@mediceo6NB ncs-2.0.3.build]$ whereis PyQt4
    PyQt4: ?????
    [leroy@mediceo6NB ncs-2.0.3.build]$ whereis python
    python: /usr/bin/python2.6-config /usr/bin/python /usr/bin/python2.6 /usr/lib/python2.6 /usr/lib64/python2.6 /usr/include/python2.6 /usr/local/python /usr/share/man/man1/python.1.gz
    [leroy@mediceo6NB ncs-2.0.3.build]$ whereis qt4
    qt4: /usr/lib64/qt4 /usr/share/qt4
    [leroy@mediceo6NB ncs-2.0.3.build]$ whereis sip
    sip: /usr/bin/sip /usr/local/bin/sip /usr/share/sip
    [leroy@mediceo6NB ncs-2.0.3.build]$
    Christine

  9. #69
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    PS: installing with rpm ivh xxxx.rpm (or link) is the same as yum install xxx or does the compilation put things in different directories?
    If it's the same rpm package, it will install to the same place. If there is a missing dependency, rpm will tell you (unless you're using the "--nodeps" or "--force" options), but cannot pull in and install those dependencies itself. Yum can "resolve" any dependencies needed and bring them in and install them along with the package you asked it to install.

    You can use rpm to show where all the files were placed from any package.
    Code:
    rpm -ql PyQt4
    whereis won't show you where PyQt4 is because there is no file named "PyQt4". That is only the name of the rpm package.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    hello PabloTwo,

    [root@mediceo6NB lib]# rpm -ql PyQt4
    /usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/mainloop/qt.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/Qt.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtAssistant.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtCore.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtDesigner.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtGui.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtHelp.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtMultimedia.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtNetwork.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtOpenGL.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtScript.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtScriptTools.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtSql.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtSvg.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtTest.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtWebKit.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtXml.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/QtXmlPatterns.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/__init__.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/__init__.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/__init__.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/phonon.so
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/pyqtconfig.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/pyqtconfig.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/pyqtconfig.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/__init__.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/__init__.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/__init__.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/compiler.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/compiler.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/compiler.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/indenter.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/indenter.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/indenter.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/misc.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/misc.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/misc.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/proxy_type.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/proxy_type.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/proxy_type.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qobjectcreator.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qobjectcreator.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qobjectcreator.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qtproxies.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qtproxies.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Compiler/qtproxies.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/__init__.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/__init__.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/__init__.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/loader.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/loader.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/loader.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/qobjectcreator.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/qobjectcreator.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/Loader/qobjectcreator.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/__init__.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/__init__.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/__init__.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/driver.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/driver.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/driver.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/exceptions.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/exceptions.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/exceptions.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/icon_cache.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/icon_cache.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/icon_cache.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/objcreator.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/objcreator.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/objcreator.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/__init__.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/__init__.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/__init__.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/ascii_upper.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/ascii_upper.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/ascii_upper.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/encode_utf8.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/encode_utf8.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/encode_utf8.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/invoke.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/invoke.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/invoke.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/load_plugin.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/load_plugin.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/load_plugin.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/proxy_base.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/proxy_base.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/proxy_base.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/string_io.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/string_io.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/port_v2/string_io.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/properties.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/properties.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/properties.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/uiparser.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/uiparser.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/uiparser.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/phonon.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/phonon.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/phonon.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qaxcontainer.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qaxcontainer.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qaxcontainer.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qscintilla.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qscintilla.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qscintilla.pyo
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qtwebkit.py
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qtwebkit.pyc
    /usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic/widget-plugins/qtwebkit.pyo
    /usr/lib64/qt4/plugins/designer/libpythonplugin.so
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/GPL_EXCEPTION.TXT
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/GPL_EXCEPTION_ADDENDUM.TXT
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/LICENSE.GPL2
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/LICENSE.GPL3
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/NEWS
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/OPENSOURCE-NOTICE.TXT
    /usr/share/doc/PyQt4-4.7.3/README
    In the instructions I have, it's writen : --with-pyqt4-exec=/.... and in the list I've just posted, I don't see what it could be.
    maybe just giving the code --with-pyqt=/usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4 ? can't do anything wrong if I try?

    The point is that I don't think that PyQt4 is the problem for the missing option. I've been on the Saturne Forum and it seems that it's more a problem of the last module compiled ( the main one) , trying to find files from another module...but unable to find them...this problem seems to be common for several users...so I'm waiting for their instructions as they wrote themselves the Satune code !!!

    Thanks a lot for everything.
    My Fedora is ok for now...I haven't met any problem since you've repaired it !!! let's see with time.

    Christine

  11. #71
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    Looks to me like it should be:
    Code:
    --with-pyqt4-exec=/usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4/uic
    That's where all the executables are located for PyQt4. Or, if it needs to see the .so libraries also, then:
    Code:
    --with-pyqt4-exec=/usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/PyQt4
    Last edited by PabloTwo; 20th December 2011 at 08:20 PM.

  12. #72
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    Hi PabloTwo,

    it's ok, problem solved.
    Before that, I have recompiled with the second path you put.
    But even if the compilation was ok, I couldn't get the option I need in the panel of the Saturne code.
    In fact the problem was coming from the second module I had to compile ( there were 5). The last one was looking for libraries from the 2 nd module but couldn't find them so I had to make some changes. And it's now ok. I can now work in good conditions.
    thank you very much, I don't know what new linux users like me would do without these forum s!!! and thanks so much for your patience !!!

    Christine

  13. #73
    PabloTwo's Avatar
    PabloTwo is offline "Fedora User" T-Shirt Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seville, FL
    Posts
    8,903
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: yum and Python

    I'm glad to know you have it all sorted out now. When I was brand new to Linux/Fedora, the help I got here on this forum was invaluable to me to get me "on my way" with Linux. Giving help is now my way of paying back for the help I got back then, and still now. Plus, I am constantly learning new things from staying an active member of this forum.

    You're welcome,

    Paul

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Similar Threads

  1. Error With Python / Python-Twisted-Web
    By HMSS013 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th November 2010, 05:07 AM
  2. Python, IDLE, Python-tools Gnome.
    By Deonis in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th March 2009, 03:44 AM
  3. python and python-irclib problem
    By LostSon in forum Programming & Packaging
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th March 2008, 12:12 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th September 2005, 05:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]