Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th December 2011, 04:57 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
linuxfirefox
FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

Iīve just installed FC16. Iīm running at runlevel 3.

I used to use ck-xinit-session in my .xinitrc to get pulseaudio started. Now it wonīt start. If I try to start it from the command line it comes back with the message Killed. I can post the output if needed. I didnīt see much in it that made sense.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th December 2011, 05:28 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,477
linuxchrome
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

I haven't had that trouble since F10 or so. First, I would try doing something as sudo to see if it's a permissions problem. It might be something like the user not being member of audio or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th December 2011, 05:49 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

When you start pulseaudio as root, you need to use the system option. pulseaudio complains that it should not run that way so I didnīt see how far that would get me.

I added a user and changed to run level 5. pulseaudio started that way and worked.

For some reason I wasnt able to use runlevel 5 for myself and I really like to use runlevel 3 if possible.

I am a member of the audio group.

Last edited by danespen; 16th December 2011 at 06:17 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th December 2011, 06:21 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,477
linuxchrome
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

I just meant that at times, if I run, say, mplayer <file> and get no sound, I then try sudo mplayer <file> and it works.

Then, I know I have some permissions issue.

Pulseaudio has been relatively trouble free for me, even in console, for awhile. However, this time around, that is F16, I had to remove alsa-plugins-pulseaudio or whatever it's called. I usually do a minimal install, then add X and other things later. Not sure if there's some GUI startup script that does something, it's certainly possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th December 2011, 06:29 PM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

I donīt see how player permissions come into it.
This is a case of pulseaudio not starting at all and when I try to start it from the command line, it prints the word Killed and stops. Using ps I canīt see it running.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th December 2011, 08:25 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,477
linuxchrome
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

Sorry, misunderstood the question.

In that case, I don't know. What I can tell you is that for me, in the console, doing yum remove alsa-plugins-pulseaudio made sound work for me. I'm afraid I can't be of more help than that, but there's a lot of pulseaudio experts on these forums, and hopefully one can help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th December 2011, 04:01 AM
danespen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new jersey
Posts: 30
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 runlevel 3 pulseaudio

Quote:
Originally Posted by smr54 View Post
Sorry, misunderstood the question.

In that case, I don't know. What I can tell you is that for me, in the console, doing yum remove alsa-plugins-pulseaudio made sound work for me. I'm afraid I can't be of more help than that, but there's a lot of pulseaudio experts on these forums, and hopefully one can help.
Just tried it, no difference.

I found the script:

start-pulseaudio-x11

Didn't help either and that's not surprising since the first thing it tries to do is bring up pulseaudio just like I'm trying to do.

I see xdg has pulseaudio listed in it's autostart folder. Not sure what I need to do to start xdg.

Also dbus has something relating to pulseaudio. Not sure how to start that either. As I said in my first post I used to start pulseaudio with ck-xinit-session. Looks like they've moved it somewhere else but I'm not sure where.

---------- Post added at 10:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

Here's some more info:

I just ran a test like this:

home> pulseaudio -v --log-target=stderr >/tmp/std 2>&1
Killed

All the stderr/stdout went to /tmp/std except the word Killed.
I notice when I use kill -9 on a process from another terminal, the word "Killed" prints on the terminal where the process is running. I'm not sure but I think something else on my system is sending a kill signal to pulseaudio? I have selinux disabled.

---------- Post added at 11:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:09 PM ----------

Problem solved.

As I said above, I've been using ck-xinit-session to start pulseaudio.

I took ck-xinit-session out of my .xinitrc file and replaced it with:

pulseaudio --start

Sound is now working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc16, pulseaudio, runlevel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFS and FC16 and systemd lensman3 Servers & Networking 4 15th March 2012 01:58 AM
FC16 Runlevel 3 input method danespen Using Fedora 4 16th December 2011 06:14 PM
Automout in runlevel 3 <> automount in runlevel 5 ? phe Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 22nd October 2008 07:35 PM
Problem switching from runlevel 5 to runlevel 3 Master Blaster Using Fedora 1 31st May 2008 03:40 AM
change runlevel 5 to runlevel 3 carlainz Using Fedora 7 24th November 2006 10:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:36 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletinŪ Copyright Đ2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat