Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th January 2012, 04:38 PM
luck02 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
windows_7firefox
Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

I've just ran a preupgrade on my box (Supermicro 7046A) and I'm now getting this on boot:

Loading Linux 3.1.9-1.fc16.x86_64 ...
Loading initial ramdisk ...
[2.135273] APEI: Can not request iomem region region <00000000bf795eba-00000000bf795ebc> for GARS

It always ran this message but now on reboot it's halting at the message.

Does anyone know of kernel arguments I could pass in to disable the request (based on what I understand this has never worked so presumably there's no impact to disabling the function).

Or if there's some bios setting that would allow the function to succeed.

I'm going to post this in the FC16 support forum as well as the supermicro support forum and if I find anything interesting I'll follow up from there if anyone is interested?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th January 2012, 06:01 PM
luck02 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
windows_7firefox
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

Disregard, it was actually hanging at Starting plymouth daemon.

I ended up just installing fresh.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th January 2012, 10:08 PM
hobie7777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
windows_7chrome
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

I have the same message :

APEI: Can not request iomem region region <00000000hf795f8a-00000000hf795f8c> for GARs

With kernel 3.1.5-2 it managed to boot, but now with 3.2.1-3 the boot process halts at the message...

Does someone have an idea of what difference between 3.1 and 3.2 may cause the boot halt ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th January 2012, 10:48 PM
luck02 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
linuxchrome
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

it's not halting at that message.


It's actually halting elsewhere,

I got this from another support group:

--
I'd be surprised if we actually halted right at that message. I think
it's just that most console output is suppressed by default, this
particular message is KERN_ERR so it is not suppressed, and we hung
somewhere later. Can you boot with "ignore_loglevel" and collect the
entire console output? If you have a previous working kernel still
installed, a corresponding log from it might also be useful.
--

I followed this and discovered that I was halting at:
dracut: Starting plymouth daemon

I can't remember how, but I found a fix for that... But there were 2 or 3 more issues.

i ended up booting into a liveCD, backing up my home directories and then doing a fresh install.

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!se...M/jBvQqSzeC10J

YMMV

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd February 2012, 02:33 PM
hobie7777 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
windows_vistachrome
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

luck02,

Thanks for your suggestion. I booted with ignore_loglevel and looked at outputs from the two kernels. Things go wrong with 3.2.1-3 when the nouveau driver is detecting my graphic card, an Nvidia GTX 550 Ti. I am going to look into that as soon as I have more time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th February 2012, 03:49 AM
pstrang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 103
linuxfirefox
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

So is there no solution for this error? I get it during the Install of FC16 and each boot there after. Things work, well I had to run basic video mode during the install process.

I suspect it's trying to load a video mode during the boot. I wonder if I can force a video mode in the grub2 scripts?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th February 2012, 05:12 AM
luck02 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
linuxchrome
Re: Preupgrade fc15 - fc16

I don't have much to say, in my case it was far simpler to just back up my home directory and install a fresh fc16.

If your determined to not do a fresh install I suggest getting a full set of boot logs and submitting them on the appropriate boards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apei, fc15, fc16, preupgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installed fc16 from live CD; some updates are from fc15 fmwcf Using Fedora 1 2nd December 2011 02:29 AM
[SOLVED] fc16 yum mess after preupgrade gkasica Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 22 20th November 2011 04:31 AM
VirtualBox USB no workie after FC15 >> FC16 PlasticJesus Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 18th November 2011 01:23 AM
how to config DNS for libvirt virbr0 on fc15/fc16? wlpl Servers & Networking 0 15th November 2011 01:48 AM
[SOLVED] FC15 preupgrade failue on java-1.5.0-gcj-javadoc-1.5.0.0-35.fc15.i686 gkasica Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 29th May 2011 12:18 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:32 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Topi - Bangangte Travel Photos - Cankaya Photos on Instagram