Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 6th February 2012, 03:52 PM
susja Offline

windows_7firefox
Unstable Network wireless connection

Hello folks,
Please help if you could. I'm new in Fedora i.e. installed Fedora 16 just 3 days ago and I love it so far.
The problem is with not reliable wireless connection. I installed on my notebook Fujitsu Lifebook A6025. It worked fine at the beginning but later ... maybe next day it started to drop wireless connection after a few hours of inactivity. Actually every morning I see that connection was dropped while it was OK at evening. If I run 'live' install Fedora disk I usually am able to restore connection. But it's really not acceptable that I have to run install disk again and again in order to restore wireless network.
I'd appreciate if someone could help since it's really frustrating.
Thanks in advance
Old 6th February 2012, 03:58 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)

linuxfirefox
Re: Unstable Network wireless connection

Hi susja and welcome to the forum.

There's been an issue with the 3.2.2-1 kernel, the last few days.
Today i've seen a kernel update to 3.2.3-2 available, maybe that one fixes the connection drop issue you currently have.

Hope this helps.
Repo (sea-devel) :: Text User Interface (TUI), Video Handler Script (VHS), efi-helper, grub2-circled-nasa-themes, Essentials (blame, p, rmtf, rnd, siggen, screenshot...), (BETA) Dev-Scripts, (BETA) Fedora Account Scripts (FAS)
Old 6th February 2012, 04:14 PM
susja Offline

windows_7firefox

hi sea,
thanks so much for speedy reply,
definitely I'll try it first thing when I come home ... BTW ... how could I upgrade kernel? Just run 'Software update' and it'll find and install new kernel? Or I should search for it myself and run 'yum'?
Thanks again.
Old 6th February 2012, 04:30 PM
jpollard Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

either way.

Doing "yum update" will find any updates for the system, including any kernel updates.
Old 7th February 2012, 12:17 AM