Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 8th February 2012, 03:03 AM
sloosley Offline

linuxchrome
F16 Hangs on Startup

This afternoon, I installed akmod-VirtualBox and DKMS from the F16X64 repo.

When I reboot, my system hangs, regardless of the kernel (most recent or previous). After the blue Fedora symbol, a screen-full of text runs and stops (hangs), stating something about starting the display.

I'm a confessed newbie = totally clueless: What do I do? Thanks! (And double thanks for your patience.)

------------------- (edit) -----------------

I booted into the shell (Ctrl+Alt+F6), removed VirtualBox and DKMS, but no joy. F16 still hangs after Plymouth. FWIW, I'm not running/have not installed any propitiatory drivers; I'm using the stock Intel. However, I have installed several graphical front-ends - KDE, XFCE, and LXDE.

Bottom line: I can boot into the shell (Command prompt), but not the graphical.

Suggestions on what to try, short of a fresh install?

Last edited by sloosley; 8th February 2012 at 04:26 AM.
Old 8th February 2012, 04:09 PM
sloosley Offline

Hmm. No advice on how to recover, if it's even possible ...

Am I to conclude that occasional, unexpected, unexplainable, and unrecoverable system failures come with the Fedora project?
Old 8th February 2012, 10:06 PM
rurikc Offline

windows_7firefox
Re: F16 Hangs on Startup

Boot into text mode.

Then just start the plain X (just type 'X' at the prompt, you may need to be root, can't remember, try first as non-root).

Be prepared for a system hang but most likely either:

-- you will be returned to the text console with some error message as to why X can't start

__or__

-- you will be presented with a gray graphical screen with a X mouse pointer.

If you get the text, note the errors and start from there ...