Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th February 2012, 11:28 PM
Shmaleb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: st albert alberta canada
Posts: 31
linuxchrome
Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

I am running fedora 16 (64 bit) and it worked fine for the past month. today I powered off my computer and when I powered on again gnome booted into "fallback mode" it said their may be a problem with my graphics card or drivers but it used to run fine. HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th February 2012, 12:32 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

Please provide more information. Is this behaviour after some update? Do you have a dedicated graphics card? What are the hardware specs in general? This might help others to offer helpful solutions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th February 2012, 12:57 AM
Shmaleb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: st albert alberta canada
Posts: 31
linuxchrome
Re: Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

it was after I removed the KDE desktop environment. intel core duo 2.1 GHz dualcore 3 gigs of ram.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2012, 01:14 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

ah! If you had used yum to remove KDE, it is possible that it removed some libraries that were shared with GNOME. Whether it would result in fallback mode is something I do not know. The only solution I can think of is to reinstall gnome-shell.

yum reinstall gnome-shell

There could be other easier/better solutions though ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th February 2012, 01:49 AM
Shmaleb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: st albert alberta canada
Posts: 31
linuxchrome
Re: Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

AH. nonamedotc you are a genius.
I typed "yum reinstall gnome-shell"
then it said "no package "gnome-shell" installed
so I typed "yum install gnome-shell" and viola!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th February 2012, 02:28 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome 3 booting into fallback mode

Glad it worked! Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, fallback, gnome, mode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] gnome 3 fallback mode and nxserver stepher Using Fedora 4 14th December 2012 05:05 PM
How to make Gnome 3 look and feel like Gnome 2 without Fallback Mode Jamwa Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 4th July 2012 01:22 AM
Gnome 3 Fallback mode on GeForce 450 GTS with PAE kernel kbs1 Using Fedora 3 7th May 2012 05:01 AM
Gnome loads in fallback mode FauladKAAaulad Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 23rd January 2012 07:39 AM
T60: GNOME 3 fallback mode when docked jfwillia Hardware & Laptops 6 18th June 2011 05:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:08 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Bata City Photos on Instagram - Hotel Chocolat, St Lucia