Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th February 2012, 10:56 PM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Fedora17 Alpha RC2

Please Go An Get RC4. thanks

Last edited by tox; 21st February 2012 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th February 2012, 02:23 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

well, with the RC2 livecd, I have a mouse...

But, all of the other issues I had still exist.

I get a kernel oops on every boot, my wacom tablet works fine, but the gnome settings-->wacom tell me thre is no wacom tablet. Also on this version of the livecd, pulseaudio errors out, and doesn't load at al, so I get no sound.

I got my mouse working, but lost sound.

And to top it all off, if I try to report the error using ABRT, it cancels with the message that there is no Fedora release 17 (I guess they don't have it set up in bugzilla yet, it may still be set up as rawhide)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th February 2012, 10:44 AM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 899
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

I installed XFCE live version on a 4 GB tiny disk. The only major issue I noticed so far, is that sound output with pulseaudio doesn't work. I removed pulseaudio and sound works fine now.

my graphic card is a Radeon HD 3200. The videoplayback quality is very good, better than in CentOS 6 and I have also the impression that it is a little better than with Catalyst drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2012, 03:20 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

still i get Garbled Graphix with this. how come they havent packaged xorg-x11-server-1.11.99.903-1.20120215 for F17 yet?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th February 2012, 03:25 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,260
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

@TOX

did you happen to see this?
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th February 2012, 03:35 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hadrons123 View Post
@TOX

did you happen to see this?
i do believe i did, unless i was on the Enterprise starship an got to busy to look at it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th February 2012, 03:41 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,260
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

I tried the live-desktop CD and it is the least working Alphas i 've ever seen.So many things needs fixing!
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th February 2012, 03:48 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

so far this is a Horrid release. maybe in time it'll get better. or usable. so far with every CD i have burnt there only good for a coffee coaster
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:22 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

I tend to agree. I have been pretty much starting out with the alphas for quite a few releases now, and this one has got to be one of the worst I have encountered.

If this is an indicator of how F17 is going to be, then it definitely is going to need a very beefy miracle to get it off the ground.

At least I haven't wasted any CD's on it yet. Been running it off of a USB stick.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:26 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
I tend to agree. I have been pretty much starting out with the alphas for quite a few releases now, and this one has got to be one of the worst I have encountered.

If this is an indicator of how F17 is going to be, then it definitely is going to need a very beefy miracle to get it off the ground.

At least I haven't wasted any CD's on it yet. Been running it off of a USB stick.
i should buy myself a USB stick
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:29 AM
solo2101 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: behind that screen...
Posts: 796
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

no torrent?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:31 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

Quote:
Originally Posted by solo2101 View Post
no torrent?
im sure someone else said this, but there is NO torrents for UNOFFICIAL releases unless you wanna buy infrastructure to torrent these for FedoraProject
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:32 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

I have had pretty good results running it off of a USB stick. The LiveUSB creator tool doesn't work right, but I have been using livecd-iso-to-disk and it works.

Here is what I have been using to create mine. (I overwrite it all when I make a new image) This makes it with a persistent overlay and a persistent home.
Code:
livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr --home-size-mb 2047 --overlay-size-mb 2047 --unencrypted-home Fedora-17-Alpha-x86_64-Live-Desktop.iso /dev/sdd

Edit:

With them releasing a new live image nightly, as soon as they got a torrent created, it would be out of date. I can see why they don't release torrents for unofficial releases.

Last edited by DBelton; 17th February 2012 at 05:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th February 2012, 01:28 AM
zukuvybz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

I can't even get mp3 to work with this version lol or switch my shell to my preferred monitor!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19th February 2012, 02:02 AM
zuser Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 77
linuxsusechrome
Re: Fedora17 Alpha RC2

KDE live cd boots fine on Toshiba nb but network manager will not establish connection. Was glad to see my wireless network found straight away but when I put in password I get a failure to establiish and message to the effect it could not find session for user id 1000.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alpha, fedora17, rc2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora17 Schedule tox F17 Development Forum 16 11th May 2012 03:35 PM
[SOLVED] Fedora17 Feature tox F17 Development Forum 2 2nd November 2011 10:08 AM
F15 Alpha TC2 DVD GoinEasy9 F15 Development 7 17th February 2011 11:26 PM
Alpha pain... mcmackin Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 8 22nd March 2009 12:52 AM
FC9 Alpha appleimac Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 5 14th February 2008 11:14 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:00 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Pehowa - Pensacola Instagram Photos - Villa Nueva