Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd February 2012, 07:50 PM
jswmcw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
linuxfirefox
Error Starting WoW

Hello all,

I've been taking break from playing WoW for a few months. However, I've recently decided that I would like to start playing again. Everytime I try to start Wow.exe, I get the following in the terminal:
Code:
$ wine Wow.exe
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr 0xb7704db4

$ wine winedbg Wow.exe
Unhandled exception: page fault on write access to 0x2ee05315 in 32-bit code (0xb7718db4).
Register dump:
 CS:0073 SS:007b DS:007b ES:007b FS:0033 GS:003b
 EIP:b7718db4 ESP:bfa19a90 EBP:bfa19ba8 EFLAGS:00010202(  R- --  I   - - - )
 EAX:79aeb304 EBX:b772dfc4 ECX:01735315 EDX:2d6d0000
 ESI:7a0281fc EDI:849dfd70
Stack dump:
0xbfa19a90:  7d27b1f0 00000000 00000001 00000001
0xbfa19aa0:  00000000 7e6f27c4 bfa19ba8 b7718054
0xbfa19ab0:  799c4000 01dc7000 00000005 00000000
0xbfa19ac0:  00000000 b75903e0 b75903e0 b746351c
0xbfa19ad0:  7d27bc70 00000000 00000074 7d27b038
0xbfa19ae0:  b7726be6 bfa19ab0 b772e51c 00000000
Backtrace:
=>0 0xb7718db4 _dl_relocate_object+0xd74() in ld-linux.so.2 (0xbfa19ba8)
  1 0xb77203ab dl_open_worker+0x2aa() in ld-linux.so.2 (0x00000000)
  2 0xb771bd0f _dl_catch_error+0x6e() in ld-linux.so.2 (0xbfa19d58)
  3 0xb771fd06 _dl_open+0x95() in ld-linux.so.2 (0xbfa19d58)
  4 0xb73e3c09 __i686.get_pc_thunk.bx+0xaf() in libdl.so.2 (0x80000002)
  5 0xb771bd0f _dl_catch_error+0x6e() in ld-linux.so.2 (0xbfa19ee0)
  6 0xb73e43ba _dlerror_run+0x89() in libdl.so.2 (0xbfa19ee0)
  7 0xb73e3cb7 __dlopen_check+0x46() in libdl.so.2 (0xbfa19f38)
  8 0xb75b566a wine_dlopen+0x39() in libwine.so.1 (0xbfa19f38)
  9 0xb75b5745 in libwine.so.1 (+0x6744) (0xbfa19f98)
  10 0x7ef7aed0 in ntdll (+0x3aecf) (0xbfa1a228)
  11 0x7ef7e8da in ntdll (+0x3e8d9) (0xbfa1a358)
  12 0x7ef7d653 in ntdll (+0x3d652) (0xbfa1a458)
  13 0x7ef7f407 LdrInitializeThunk+0x1c6() in ntdll (0xbfa1a4c8)
  14 0x7b86122b __wine_kernel_init+0xa1a() in kernel32 (0xbfa1b668)
  15 0x7ef7fd5b __wine_process_init+0x26a() in ntdll (0xbfa1b6e8)
  16 0xb75b5cac wine_init+0x28b() in libwine.so.1 (0xbfa1b748)
  17 0x7bf00d2c main+0x8b() in <wine-loader> (0xbfa1bb98)
  18 0xb74016b3 __libc_start_main+0xf2() in libc.so.6 (0x00000000)
0xb7718db4 _dl_relocate_object+0xd74 in ld-linux.so.2: movl	%edi,0x0(%ecx,%edx,1)
Now, I have installed Fedora 16 since I last played. WoW is not a reinstall. It's the same install I was using before. I've never had an issue trying to run WoW with wine. Any helpful feedback would be appreciated. Let me know if you need more info.

Code:
$ uname -r
3.2.6-3.fc16.i686.PAE

$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G92 [GeForce GTS 250] (rev a2)

$ wine --version
wine-1.4-rc4
__________________
:C
"Anybody who tells me I can't use a program because it's not open source, go suck on rms. I'm not interested. 99% of that I run tends to be open source, but that's _my_ choice, dammit." -- Linus Torvalds, 2004.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2012, 09:24 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,083
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Error Starting WoW

Have you tried to run wow.exe directly rather than via the launcher?

EDIT: urks, first line states so
Have you installed the directx 9, vc5, vc6 runtimes as well as gecko and wine beeing 32 bit? (regardless if your fedora is 32 or 64 bit)
__________________
Notebook: Samsung NC210/NC110 CPU: Intel 2*1600 Mhz RAM: 1024 MB DDR2 OS: Fedora 19 DE: Awesome
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite L670 CPU: Intel(r) 2*1872 Mhz RAM: 3072 MB DDR3 OS: Fedora 17 DE: Awesome
Fedora Manual (RTFM) | The Linux Documentation Project | Script-Tools

Last edited by sea; 23rd February 2012 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd February 2012, 10:24 PM
jswmcw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Starting WoW

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Have you installed the directx 9, vc5, vc6 runtimes as well as gecko and wine beeing 32 bit? (regardless if your fedora is 32 or 64 bit)
Thanks for your response, sea. Actually, I referred to your guide as I was trying to solve my issue. I deleted my .wine directory (all but my WoW folder) and consulted your guide as I reconfigured wine, which involved installing all of those mentioned. The problem still persists.

I've reinstalled my OS a few times over the last few years without deleting my WoW install. I've never had an issue. I'd rather not have to resort to trying to reinstall WoW from scratch.
__________________
:C
"Anybody who tells me I can't use a program because it's not open source, go suck on rms. I'm not interested. 99% of that I run tends to be open source, but that's _my_ choice, dammit." -- Linus Torvalds, 2004.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd February 2012, 11:00 PM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,083
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Error Starting WoW

Hmm, ok.
Well lets start with the bad news, i dont play WoW anymore.
Thus i havent updated the guide.

The terrible news are, i once accomplished to get 25 fps, following my own guide, but never ever again since.
That was the time i had noted down every setting, just to figure out, none of those settings brought the same result after a fresh reinstalltion of Fedora 15, wine and WoW.

The good news are, IF you install wow from scratch, and you pass the launcher installer by 10% or more without issues, you have very good chances that wow will run smoothly.

Have you tried the script i had provided in that thread?
Since i havent touched them again, they still should work well on F15.
Havent tried with F16, and wont do anywhere in close future.

Having an Intel 'GPU' myself, my experience is that it differs very much of a mixture between openGL and directX.
Lazy saying: Optimze for openGL while having directX installed.
But the results differ as they seem to be diffrent with every diffrent chipset.

Ending info:
Havent changed my hardware since i wrote that guide, but the FPS (and the settings that the fps even matters) seemed to be diffrent with every update, as the FPS varied from between 0.1-0.3 over 5-8 to 15-35.
So, since like 100 updates had passed, i have no idea what settings could even matter anymore.

But to give you hope, play with all available settings (winecfg, winetricks), note them down and check your fps.
You will find out that one setting doesnt make a diffrence at all, while the same change varies alot if something.
__________________
Notebook: Samsung NC210/NC110 CPU: Intel 2*1600 Mhz RAM: 1024 MB DDR2 OS: Fedora 19 DE: Awesome
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite L670 CPU: Intel(r) 2*1872 Mhz RAM: 3072 MB DDR3 OS: Fedora 17 DE: Awesome
Fedora Manual (RTFM) | The Linux Documentation Project | Script-Tools
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd February 2012, 11:36 PM
jswmcw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Thanks for trying. Last time I played, I was getting between 30 and 60 fps, depending on where I was in-game. Hopefully, I can get the game running again without too much effort. As it is now, it won't start. Probably, for the best anyway. I tend to spend alot of time in-game when I play.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
__________________
:C
"Anybody who tells me I can't use a program because it's not open source, go suck on rms. I'm not interested. 99% of that I run tends to be open source, but that's _my_ choice, dammit." -- Linus Torvalds, 2004.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, starting, wow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xine error starting animatman Using Fedora 3 3rd October 2007 02:44 PM
httpd error when starting ShawnEdwards Using Fedora 1 25th September 2006 09:01 PM
MySQL starting error riscphree Servers & Networking 8 17th September 2006 07:42 PM
Error starting named Apoctyliptic Servers & Networking 0 15th December 2005 09:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:18 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat