Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:07 AM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2009/06/...-user-in-unix/

i used this and a few others now when i use acetoneISO i get an error

on a side not idk about acet at that time

Syntax: # mount ISOFILE MOUNT-POINT -o loop

$ su -

# mkdir /tmp/mnt

# mount -o loop /downloads/ubuntu-9.04-desktop-i386.iso /tmp/mnt

# cd /tmp/mnt
# ls -l




http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=76955


and some stuff from here i think



i get this error message


Cannot execute command ' 'umount '\''/home/demon/Desktop/iso'\'' && mount -o loop -t iso9660 '\''/ isoname hereDVD1.iso'\'' '\''/home/demon/Desktop/iso'\''''




how do i fix the damage.
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17

Last edited by DemonGodKid; 25th February 2012 at 03:21 AM. Reason: how do i fix the damage.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:28 AM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

What is the actual command you are running? That looks like it might be some kind of script or something.
Try "which mount", it should come back as /bin/mount. You could also try using the full path to make sure you are running what you think /bin/mount -o loop /path/to/iso /path/to/mountpoint
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:49 AM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

i used both
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:52 AM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

There is no reason for any of those errors from running a mount command. What does "file /bin/mount" return?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:54 AM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

mount /path_to_iso/Name.iso -r -t iso9660 -o loop /mnt/iso

mount -r -t iso9660 -o loop image_name.iso /media/cdrom/

maybe $ cp some-file-inside-iso /tmp/mnt
and

# mount /downloads/debian-501-i386-DVD-1.iso /tmp/mnt -o loop

---------- Post added at 06:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:54 PM ----------

root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# file /bin/mount
/bin/mount: setuid ELF 64-bit LSB shared object, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.32, stripped
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# ^C
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]#
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th February 2012, 03:55 AM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

run "/bin/mount -o loop /downloads/debian-501-i386-DVD-1.iso /tmp/mnt "

Do you get the same error?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th February 2012, 04:14 AM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

bash: run: command not found...

---------- Post added at 07:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:59 PM ----------

any ideas?

---------- Post added at 07:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 PM ----------

twidles thumbs
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th February 2012, 04:36 AM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

run the "command in quotes"

just this

/bin/mount -o loop /downloads/debian-501-i386-DVD-1.iso /tmp/mnt

(ps sorry, got paged, now working )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th February 2012, 06:51 AM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

heyy got side trac just checked back here n did what you said

mount: warning: /tmp/mnt seems to be mounted read-only.

---------- Post added at 08:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:22 PM ----------

just seen a pop up with the mounted iso\

it seems to work, yet how do i get ace to work and how do i unmount?

---------- Post added at 09:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:25 PM ----------

i will be back tommorw

---------- Post added at 09:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:51 PM ----------

going to sleep gnite
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th February 2012, 11:57 AM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

Ok, so somehow, something is grabbing your "mount" command, hence the reason you get the funky error, but it works if you use the full path. To unmount the device use "umount /mnt/tmp",*if you get a funky error here too, try /bin/umount* note that it is UMOUNT not UNMOUNT, otherwise you will spend all day getting a command not found error.

Anyhow to find out why your mount command is funky, you can try the following:

which mount -- this should return /bin/mount, if points anywhere else, note where
grep mount ~/.bashrc -- this return anything?
grep mount ~/.profile -- this return anything?

Let me know what you find.

Oh, and and far as AcetoneISO, I have no idea, never used it.

Last edited by p0ssum; 25th February 2012 at 12:00 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th February 2012, 05:52 PM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# unmount /mnt/iso
bash: unmount: command not found...
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# UNMOUNT /mnt/iso
bash: UNMOUNT: command not found...
^[[A[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# /bin/umount
Usage: umount -h | -V
umount -a [-d] [-f] [-r] [-n] [-v] [-t vfstypes] [-O opts]
umount [-d] [-f] [-r] [-n] [-v] special | node...
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# /bin/unmount /mnt/iso
-bash: /bin/unmount: No such file or directory
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# /bin/unmount /mnt/iso
-bash: /bin/unmount: No such file or directory
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]#
][root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# ]
bash: ]: command not found...
Failed to search for file: Invalid input passed to daemon: char ']' in text!
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# which mount
/bin/mount
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# which mount
/bin/mount
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# unmount /bin/mount
bash: unmount: command not found...
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# grep mount ~/.bashrc
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# grep mount ~/.profile -- this return anything?
grep: /root/.profile: No such file or directory
grep: this: No such file or directory
grep: return: No such file or directory
grep: anything?: No such file or directory
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]# unmount
bash: unmount: command not found...
[root@unknown1c6f65a06b16 ~]#

i did the unmount and it dident worki did those other commands just to see what they would do
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th February 2012, 08:30 PM
p0ssum Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wake FOrest
Posts: 10
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

you need to read my previous message very carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th February 2012, 10:15 PM
DemonGodKid Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: screwed up fedora 16 tryed to mount iso

thank you for the tip

when i read "UMOUNT not UNMOUNT" before it all looked the same due to the caps so i thought your were crazy, i a easy mistake on my part since when you typed "UMOUNT not UNMOUNT" i usually think ok he is pointing something out and when i dident apear to see a different then i just chalked it up to bunk advice

thank you
__________________
windows 8 / fedora 17
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, iso, mount, screwed, tryed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May have screwed up my USB stick... won't mount anymore. jonrpick Using Fedora 10 30th January 2009 03:21 AM
My FC6 system is screwed! Kernel panic (can not mount root) joe.pelayo EOL (End Of Life) Versions 4 5th July 2007 04:47 AM
Tryed to install new drivers, reinstalled old ones and lost direct rendering... Larsey Gamers' Lounge 5 9th November 2006 10:52 PM
Tryed FC4 - dissapointment Artik Fedora Focus 18 9th August 2005 04:05 PM
Tryed to avoid coming back into windows to post for help, but I had to :( (Partition) spfdz Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 21st March 2005 06:02 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:00 (Friday, 21-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Anqiu Travel Photos on Instagram - Soanindrariny Photos on Instagram - Itajai Photos