Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th March 2012, 03:14 AM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
windows_7firefox
Exclamation I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

This is the error

root@localhost /]# service named restart
Restarting named (via systemctl): Job failed. See system logs and 'systemctl status' for details.
[FAILED]
[root@localhost /]# service named status
rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
named.service - LSB: start|stop|status|restart|try-restart|reload|force-reload DNS server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/named)
Active: failed since Sat, 17 Mar 2012 19:22:36 -0600; 7s ago
Process: 3775 ExecStop=/etc/rc.d/init.d/named stop (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Process: 4252 ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/init.d/named start (code=exited, status=2/INVALIDARGUMENT)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/named.service

[root@localhost /]#

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
In the named.conf I have this:

options {
listen-on port 53 { 127.0.0.1; any; };
listen-on-v6 port 53 { ::1; };
directory "/var/named";
dump-file "/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
statistics-file "/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
memstatistics-file "/var/named/data/named_mem_stats.txt";
allow-query { localhost; any; };
recursion yes;
dnssec-enable yes;
dnssec-validation yes;
dnssec-lookaside auto;

/* Path to ISC DLV key */

bindkeys-file "/etc/named.iscdlv.key";
managed-keys-directory "/var/named/dynamic";
};

logging {
channel default_debug
{
file "data/named.run";
severity dynamic;
};
};

zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};

zone "prueba.com" IN {
type master;
file "db.prueba.com";
};

zone "1.168.192.in.addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "1.168.192.in.addr.arpa.zone";
};

include "/etc/named.rfc1912.zones";
include "/etc/named.root.key";

---------------------------------------------------------
In the prueba.com file I have this:

$TTL 86400
@
IN SOA prueba.com. root.prueba.com. (
1;
28800;
7200;
604800;
86400;
)

@ IN NS prueba.com.
@ IN A 192.168.1.2

----------------------------------------------------------------

And in the 1.168.192.in.addr.arpa.zone I have this:

$TLL 86400
@
IN SOA prueba.com. root.prueba.com. (
1;
28800;
7200;
604800;
86400;
)
@ IN NS prueba.com.
2 IN PTR prueba.com.

.................................................. ...

I need to resolve this if someone knows how to fix it please reply!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th March 2012, 03:25 AM
marko Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,120
linuxfirefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Try:

Quote:
systemctl start named.service
systemctl enable named.service
then use
Quote:
systemctl status named.service
to confirm it's running, the "service" way should call to systemctl to handle that but
maybe there's just something wrong and systemctl works correctly if used directly. Fedora 16 is pretty much nearly all systemctl
based and 'service' is obsolete.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th March 2012, 04:45 AM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
windows_7firefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

This is what I get:

[jose@localhost ~]$ su -
Contraseña:
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl start named.service
Job failed. See system logs and 'systemctl status' for details.
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl enable named.service
named.service is not a native service, redirecting to /sbin/chkconfig.
Executing /sbin/chkconfig named on
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl status named.service
named.service - LSB: start|stop|status|restart|try-restart|reload|force-reload DNS server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/named)
Active: failed since Sat, 17 Mar 2012 21:36:37 -0600; 34s ago
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/named.service
[root@localhost ~]#

The problem continue...please help me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th March 2012, 04:53 AM
marko Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,120
linuxfirefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Are you sure named (aka 'bind') is installed?

rpm -q bind ---> if it says it's not installed then you need to install the bind package
Quote:
yum install bind
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th March 2012, 05:06 AM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
windows_7firefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Yes, I have installed the bin package...

[jose@localhost ~]$ su -
Contraseña:
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -q bind
bind-9.8.2-0.2.rc1.fc16.i686
[root@localhost ~]# yum install bind
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Could not get metalink https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/me...-f16&arch=i386 error was
14: curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Setting up Install Process
Package 32:bind-9.8.2-0.2.rc1.fc16.i686 already installed and latest version
Nothing to do
[root@localhost ~]#

But if you notice, the error that was before using systemctl... is not the same
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th March 2012, 09:08 PM
hmmsjan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alkmaar The Netherlands
Posts: 237
linuxfirefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Dear josfedor,

grep named /var/log/messages gives you a lot of information.

in db.prueba.com:
@ IN SOA prueba.com. root.prueba.com. (

should be on one line.

in 1.168.192.in.addr.arpa.zone:

$TLL should be $TTL
@ IN SOA prueba.com. root.prueba.com. (

should be on one line.

At least named starts, hope that it will solve your problem

Good luck!
__________________
H.Janssen
Alkmaar
The Netherlands
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th March 2012, 11:56 PM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Urgent...I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Thanks for answer, I am very grateful...the error was in the 1.168.192.in.addr.arpa.zone: because I had $TLL and that should be $TTL.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th April 2012, 06:18 PM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Exclamation ERROR urgent I need to configure a DHCP server

Well this is the error:

Not searching LDAP since ldap-server, ldap-port and ldap-base-dn were not specified in the config file
Wrote 0 leases to leases file.

No subnet declaration for p2p1 (10.0.2.15).
** Ignoring requests on p2p1. If this is not what
you want, please write a subnet declaration
in your dhcpd.conf file for the network segment
to which interface p2p1 is attached. **


Not configured to listen on any interfaces!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
this is ghe config of the dhcpd.conf

authoritative;
ddns-update-style interim;
ignore client-updates;
default-lease-time 600;
max-lease-time 7200;

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option routers 10.0.0.1;
range 10.0.0.5 10.0.0.15;
}

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is the "interface" where I am doing the DHCP

[root@localhost etc]# cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/
[root@localhost network-scripts]# ls

ifcfg-eth0 ifdown-bnep ifdown-sit ifup-ipx ifup-tunnel
ifcfg-eth0~ ifdown-eth ifdown-tunnel ifup-isdn ifup-wireless
ifcfg-eth1 ifdown-ippp ifup ifup-plip init.ipv6-global
ifcfg-eth1~ ifdown-ipv6 ifup-aliases ifup-plusb net.hotplug
ifcfg-lo ifdown-isdn ifup-bnep ifup-post network-functions
ifcfg-p2p1 ifdown-post ifup-eth ifup-ppp network-functions-ipv6
ifcfg-p2p1~ ifdown-ppp ifup-ippp ifup-routes
ifdown ifdown-routes ifup-ipv6 ifup-sit

[root@localhost network-scripts]# cat ifcfg-p2p1
DEVICE="p2p1"
HWADDR="08:00:27:0F:85:9D"
BOOTPROTO="dhcp"
ONBOOT="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED="yes"
USERCTRL="no"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
so in etc/sysconfig/dhcpd

DHCPDARGS="p2p1"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If someone can help please!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th April 2012, 06:23 PM
josfedor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Exclamation I need help with this error...

Well this is the error:

Not searching LDAP since ldap-server, ldap-port and ldap-base-dn were not specified in the config file
Wrote 0 leases to leases file.

No subnet declaration for p2p1 (10.0.2.15).
** Ignoring requests on p2p1. If this is not what
you want, please write a subnet declaration
in your dhcpd.conf file for the network segment
to which interface p2p1 is attached. **


Not configured to listen on any interfaces!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
this is ghe config of the dhcpd.conf

authoritative;
ddns-update-style interim;
ignore client-updates;
default-lease-time 600;
max-lease-time 7200;

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option routers 10.0.0.1;
range 10.0.0.5 10.0.0.15;
}

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is the "interface" where I am doing the DHCP

[root@localhost etc]# cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/
[root@localhost network-scripts]# ls

ifcfg-eth0 ifdown-bnep ifdown-sit ifup-ipx ifup-tunnel
ifcfg-eth0~ ifdown-eth ifdown-tunnel ifup-isdn ifup-wireless
ifcfg-eth1 ifdown-ippp ifup ifup-plip init.ipv6-global
ifcfg-eth1~ ifdown-ipv6 ifup-aliases ifup-plusb net.hotplug
ifcfg-lo ifdown-isdn ifup-bnep ifup-post network-functions
ifcfg-p2p1 ifdown-post ifup-eth ifup-ppp network-functions-ipv6
ifcfg-p2p1~ ifdown-ppp ifup-ippp ifup-routes
ifdown ifdown-routes ifup-ipv6 ifup-sit

[root@localhost network-scripts]# cat ifcfg-p2p1
DEVICE="p2p1"
HWADDR="08:00:27:0F:85:9D"
BOOTPROTO="dhcp"
ONBOOT="yes"
NM_CONTROLLED="yes"
USERCTRL="no"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
so in etc/sysconfig/dhcpd

DHCPDARGS="p2p1"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If someone can help please!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th April 2012, 10:18 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: I need help with this error...

Thread title edited. Nothing on these forums is urgent.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th April 2012, 10:45 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Threads merged.

Please review the posting rules before you attempt to start another thread on this issue. You may continue here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th April 2012, 11:18 PM
hmmsjan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alkmaar The Netherlands
Posts: 237
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

Dear Josfedor,

It looks to me that you ask dhcpd to act on the p2p1 subnet, which probably has got an IP address from some other server (10.0.2.15), but on this interface you ask to give leases in the 10.0.0.1/24 range.
Those subnets do not match, so this could cause the complaints.
It looks a bit strange to me to have a DHCP server running on an interface which is a DHCP client too,
but may be I'm wrong.

Kind regards,

H.Janssen
The Netherlands
__________________
H.Janssen
Alkmaar
The Netherlands
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st July 2014, 10:19 AM
yogeshssawant Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1
macoschrome
Re: I can't configure a dns (fedora 16)

I also get same error : Here is config:

[root@xmppveos yogesh]# vi /etc/named.conf
//
// named.conf
//
// Provided by Red Hat bind package to configure the ISC BIND named(8) DNS
// server as a caching only nameserver (as a localhost DNS resolver only).
//
// See /usr/share/doc/bind*/sample/ for example named configuration files.
//

options {
listen-on port 53 { 127.0.0.1; any; };
listen-on-v6 port 53 { ::1; };
directory "/var/named";
dump-file "/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
statistics-file "/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
memstatistics-file "/var/named/data/named_mem_stats.txt";
allow-query { localhost; any; };
recursion yes;
dnssec-enable yes;
dnssec-validation yes;
dnssec-lookaside auto;

/* Path to ISC DLV key */
bindkeys-file "/etc/named.iscdlv.key";
managed-keys-directory "/var/named/dynamic";
};

logging {
channel default_debug {
file "data/named.run";
severity dynamic;
};
};
zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};
zone "xmppveos.com" IN {
type master;
file "db.xmppveos.com";
};
zone "10.10.10.in.addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "10.10.10.in.addr.arpa.zone";
};
include "/etc/named.rfc1912.zones";
include "/etc/named.root.key";


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
vi /var/named/db.xmppveos.com

TTL 86400
@ IN SOA xmppveos.com. root.xmppveos.com. (
1;
28800;
7200;
604800;
86400;
)

@ IN NS xmppveos.com.
@ IN A 10.10.10.10

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
vi /var/named/10.10.10.in.addr.arpa.zone
$TTL 86400
@IN SOA xmppveos.com. root.xmppveos.com. (
1;
28800;
7200;
604800;
86400;
)
@ IN NS xmppveos.com.
2 IN PTR xmppveos.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configure, dns, errorurgent, fedora, urgenti

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
configure SSL on Fedora 8 hany_77 Servers & Networking 12 15th August 2011 11:29 AM
How do I configure MPX with Fedora 12 Miguel Cancel Using Fedora 0 14th March 2010 05:45 PM
Copying /var/named files from Fedora 7 to Fedora 11 does not configure bind charlweed Servers & Networking 4 24th October 2009 04:40 PM
Configure OCS in Fedora senor.ram Using Fedora 1 7th July 2009 12:58 AM
how to configure dns in fedora 7 pawan_lal Using Fedora 3 7th June 2009 06:26 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:35 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Kapurpurawan, Burgos, Ilocos Norte Travel Photos - Portsmouth Guildhall Travel Photos - DANCE Studio,bar&party SPACE Waaaps Travel Photos - GENKI SUSHI Plaza Senayan Photos