Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th March 2012, 05:53 AM
waseembaraskar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bombay - India
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Arrow preupgrade FC7 -> F16

Hi everyone outthere,

In my office machine fedora FC7 is installed.
can anybody guide me to how to upgrade to latest version of fedora ie. F16.

while using preupgrade it shows following error.




What i have done as root is :

1 - yum -y updage
2 - yum install preupgrade
3 - preupgrade

After this a window comes up to select the version available, I select fedora 9 sulphur. Click on 'apply 'button. After that the error comes as shown in the above image.

I thankful to all your suggestion & guidance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th March 2012, 08:46 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,869
linuxfirefox
Re: preupgrade FC7 -> F16

There are no working repositories for Fedora 9 because it has been End Of Life for a long time. The best thing for you to do is to backup critical data and do a fresh install. Even if you get preupgrade to work it will be a disaster. There are just far too many changes between Fedora 7 and Fedora 16.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
&gt, >, f16, fc7, preupgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using preupgrade to go from F14 to F16 Isaac1357 F16 Development 3 30th October 2011 03:29 AM
Preupgrade over shh ilvista Using Fedora 2 3rd December 2010 09:42 AM
Preupgrade F13 > F14 not working: "repo preupgrade-main is listed multiple times" Lo Zeno Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 4th November 2010 12:05 PM
Why preupgrade windsea Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 9th January 2009 06:53 PM
F7 to F9 preupgrade -- What I had to do alake Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 26th May 2008 02:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:24 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Repino Village Photos - Costa Brava, Catalonia Travel Photos - Fort Lauderdale Beach @ Sunrise Boulevard Photos - Plaza San Francisco Photos on Instagram - Fresco & Cimmino