Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th March 2012, 05:19 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
grub2 not found WinXP

Hello!
I tried to edit config files grub, but it did not help.

Completed: su-c 'grub2-mkconfig-o / boot/grub2/grub.cfg' but this is also did not give any result - grub found two core Fedora, but have not found Windows.

Command sudo update-grub doesn't exist.

How to find Windows? =))

Advantage of advice:

# Update-grub
bash: update-grub: command not found ...
# Find /-name update-grub *
/ root / mint / usr / lib / grub-legacy / update-grub
/ root / mint / usr / lib / grub / update-grub_lib
/ root / mint / usr / sbin / update-grub
/ root / mint / usr / sbin / update-grub-gfxpayload
/ root/mint/usr/sbin/update-grub2

(http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=271203)

I only found:
/ usr / lib / grub / update-grub_lib
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th March 2012, 09:05 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

make sure you have os-prober installed.

Code:
su -
(root password)

yum install os-prober
The run the grub2-mkconfig

Code:
su -
(root password)

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:09 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

Package os-prober-1.48-2.fc16.i686 already installed and latest version
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:26 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

what does the output of grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg show?

Also, what is it output of fdisk -l
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:31 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

su -c 'grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg'
Password:
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686.img
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.img
No volume groups found
done

---------- Post added at 03:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:28 PM ----------

fdisk-l

Do not show anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:37 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

you have to run fdisk as root user.

su -c 'fdisk -l'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:41 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

sudo fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa33b6c03

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 4196351 2097152 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda2 552959568 625141439 36090936 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda3 4196352 491519999 243661824 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 * 491520000 552957951 30718976 83 Linux
/dev/sda5 552959631 625141439 36090904+ 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Partition table entries are not in disk order
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st March 2012, 01:53 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

That's interesting... Are you even able to boot Windows XP?

Windows XP usually requires itself to be on the first primary partition of the first hard drive. You have it in a extended partition, with your linux partitions before it on the drive.

That could possibly be your problem, too. I'm not certain if grub2 can pick up a Windows XP install in an extended partition or not, and even if it can, I'm not certain if Windows XP would even boot.

Just for reference, here is what I have on my machine where I dual boot Windows and Fedora.
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00045886

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048   481282047   240640000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2       481282048   483379199     1048576   83  Linux
/dev/sda3       483379200   491767807     4194304   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda4       491767808   976773167   242502680    5  Extended
/dev/sda5       491769856   617598975    62914560   83  Linux
/dev/sda6       617601024   976773167   179586072   83  Linux
sda1 is my Windows partition
sda2 is my Fedora /boot
sda3 is my Fedora swap
sda4 is an extended partition to hold the others
sda5 is my Fedora /
sda6 is my Fedora /home
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:01 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

Oops! Yes, I noticed that GRUB calls to Windows. But boot is not happening.
I thought that this is the problem with the configuration.
Windows was installed first. And it is run.

Sorry for my English!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:09 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

ok, what does your /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file look like? Can you copy/paste it here?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:16 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

Advantage of this advice now. Also did not help.
http://rubuntu.ru/blog/457/dobavleni...ju-grub-2.html


#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
load_env
fi
set default="${saved_entry}"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
save_env saved_entry
set prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
saved_entry="${chosen}"
save_env saved_entry
fi
}

function load_video {
insmod vbe
insmod vga
insmod video_bochs
insmod video_cirrus
}

set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.0-4.fc16.i686' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
load_video
set gfxpayload=keep
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094
echo 'Loading Linux 3.3.0-4.fc16.i686 ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686 root=UUID=21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initramfs-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.0-4.fc16.i686 (recovery mode)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
load_video
set gfxpayload=keep
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094
echo 'Loading Linux 3.3.0-4.fc16.i686 ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686 root=UUID=21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094 ro single rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initramfs-3.3.0-4.fc16.i686.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
load_video
set gfxpayload=keep
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094
echo 'Loading Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 root=UUID=21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 (recovery mode)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
load_video
set gfxpayload=keep
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094
echo 'Loading Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686 root=UUID=21636216-8232-4bb1-bf0c-ab2220cf6094 ro single rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.img
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
menuentry "Windows XP" {
set root=(hd0,5)
chainloader +1
}### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###
### END /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###

---------- Post added at 04:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:14 PM ----------

menuentry "Windows XP" {
set root=(hd0,5)
chainloader +1
}### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

It's written by me
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:22 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

Ok, run

su -c blkid

And note the value it gives you for /dev/sda5 (just the UUID value)

the part you wrote, for your Windows XP.. change it to look like this:

Code:
menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sda5)" --class windows --class os {
	savedefault
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ntfs
	set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root value noted from blkid command above
	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
	chainloader +1
}

Last edited by DBelton; 31st March 2012 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:31 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

ok. change in which file?
/ etc/grub.d/40_custom

or

/ boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st March 2012, 02:37 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

you can put it into your /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file for now and see if it works for you.

If you run grub2-mkconfig again, it will overwrite the changes, though, so once you figure out what works, then you need to change the /etc/grub.d/40_custom file so that it puts it in when you run grub2-mkconfig.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st March 2012, 05:07 PM
kotfantazer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
linuxchrome
Re: grub2 not found WinXP

Added this:
menuentry "Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on / dev/sda5)" - class windows - class os {
savedefault
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root = '(hd0, msdos5)'
search - no-floppy - fs-uuid - set = root B484A45B84A4223A
drivemap-s (hd0) $ {root}
chainloader +1
}

Showed a blinking cursor, but nothing has been loaded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grub2, not found, winxp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grub2 не видит WinXP kotfantazer Using Fedora 4 30th March 2012 05:48 PM
[SOLVED] Grub2, dev modifications from satndard grub2 install jakebpg Using Fedora 16 9th March 2012 08:39 AM
Latest grub2 update gives a "file not found" prompt; urgent assistance needed Boricua F16 Development 50 9th September 2011 07:24 AM
Grub2 Commands not found zackf Using Fedora 2 18th April 2009 04:42 PM
How to dual-boot Fedora Core 8 and WinXP (winxp installed 1st) LinuxNoobie Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 7th November 2008 05:31 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:27 (Wednesday, 16-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat