Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st May 2012, 06:26 PM
wafflesausage Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
How Do I Configure GDM3 To Autologin

Hey, I'm having a problem with getting GDM3 to automatically login (I have the drive encrypted, requiring a password at boot; it's a "single user" machine, so I figured that typing two passwords is a little redundant). I edited the configuration file /etc/gdm/custom.com, and it now reads:
Code:
# GDM configuration storage

[daemon]

[security]

[xdmcp]

[greeter]

[chooser]

[debug]

### User Added Settings ###
AutomaticLoginEnable=true
AutomaticLogin=lucer
and then restarted, but no luck. Any pointers?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st May 2012, 06:47 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,844
linuxfirefox
Re: How Do I Configure GDM3 To Autologin

Just use the username menu on the top right (default setup), choose system settings --> User accounts. Here, toggle the Automatic Login switch to ON.

This should work!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st May 2012, 09:44 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,175
linuxfirefox
Re: How Do I Configure GDM3 To Autologin

Or, you could go to the Fedora Set-Up Guides (above) and use AutoPlus.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd May 2012, 07:18 AM
wafflesausage Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: How Do I Configure GDM3 To Autologin

Thanks a lot; I had no idea it would be so straightforward, haha.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th July 2012, 05:24 PM
johnlvs2run Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: western u.s.
Posts: 147
linuxfirefox
Re: How Do I Configure GDM3 To Autologin

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonamedotc View Post
Just use the username menu on the top right (default setup), choose system settings --> User accounts. Here, toggle the Automatic Login switch to ON.

This should work!
Do you happen to know where the username menu is on F16 or 17 LXDE?
__________________
biostar a870u3 / amd athlonII x2 regor250 3.0ghz am3 65w / gskill sniper 2x4gb ddr3 1333
evga 512-P3-1311-KR geforce 210 32bit ddr3 pci express hdcp video card / fedora 16 64 lxde
nvidia onboard / seagate barracuda 7200 250gb 3gbs hard drive / hannsg hw192 / earthwatts psu
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autologin, configure, gdm3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
autologin lesses Using Fedora 1 14th January 2007 12:08 AM
Kde Autologin smithxi Using Fedora 3 1st December 2006 01:32 PM
FC5 autologin LinuxHippy EOL (End Of Life) Versions 6 4th November 2006 03:27 AM
autologin to FC4 cuongvt Using Fedora 3 2nd September 2005 01:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:01 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Nutley - Gargzdai - Jaynagar-Majilpur Photos