Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th May 2012, 08:34 AM
roger Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 105
windows_xp_2003ie
Lost my LVM using Preupgrade from F16 to F17

Hi,

I did yesterday a preupgrade, which did not went to good. I did get no Kernel for F17, the cleanup broke after the installation and so on.

So, i got rebooted into F16 doing a package-cleanup --cleandupes, which cleaned first my system. Afterwards, i erased the Fedora-Release-Info for F16 and i got tons of updates including the new kernel.

When rebooting then (strange, it seems still to use the old Grub from F16, could this be an issue?) i drop into a rescue-shell from dracut, telling me, that F17 does not find my F17 LVM-Partitions.

Could it be, that they just are not actived? I found no real help in bugzilla. Any help is very very appreciated

TIA
Roger
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th May 2012, 08:41 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,254
linuxfirefox
Re: Lost my LVM using Preupgrade from F16 to F17

"Afterwards, i erased the Fedora-Release-Info for F16 and i got tons of updates"

Um...what do you mean by this? Do you actually know what preupgrade is and how to use it?
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th May 2012, 08:47 PM
roger Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 105
linuxfirefox
Re: Lost my LVM using Preupgrade from F16 to F17

Hi Adam,

I think so. At the end, there should be a cleanup from the old packages. Unfortunately, my box broke there, so i just restarted the upgrade. Unfortunately, the cleanup hasnt been done, so i had tons of dupes from fedora 16, which i had to wipe. Having the fedora-release-notes for f16 and f17 was - in my thought - the reason, why yum tried to update all the packages (f16 and f17). In fact, this time preupgrade left my system in a mess...

I just continued googling btw. and found an existing bug, where lvm has not been activated. so i "lvm vgchange -ay" on each boot, then it works.

IMHO, it cant be, that i have to do this on each boot. Also, there are a few error-messages about udevd missing some rules.

Roger

EDIT: the yum update has been done after the preupgrade
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th May 2012, 10:31 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,234
linuxfirefox
Re: Lost my LVM using Preupgrade from F16 to F17

moved to Installation.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th May 2012, 03:18 PM
roger Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 105
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: Lost my LVM using Preupgrade from F16 to F17

Fixed!

lvm vgscan showed it up correctly, lvm vgchange -ay activated correctly - until next reboot. Seems to be an issue with my broken installation

had to 'dracut --force --add convertfs' in shell, then it worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f16, f17, lost, lvm, preupgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
preupgrade FC7 -> F16 waseembaraskar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 19th March 2012 08:46 AM
F16 Preupgrade dencar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 10th November 2011 07:03 AM
Preupgrade F13 > F14 not working: "repo preupgrade-main is listed multiple times" Lo Zeno Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 4th November 2010 12:05 PM
Why preupgrade windsea Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 9th January 2009 06:53 PM
F7 to F9 preupgrade -- What I had to do alake Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 26th May 2008 02:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:34 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Villa Igang Beach Resort Photos on Instagram - mammoth lakes pack outfit Photos on Instagram - Dasman Lounge @ Kuwait International Airport Travel Photos - Hongkong Kawloon