Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th July 2012, 02:31 PM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
DVD-rom and wine

I am unable to configure my dvd-rom and dvd-rw drives in wine, I try several things like "/dev/sr0" and nothing works. wine did not find the path to my dvd drives. I'm using FC16. Is there a any way to get this working?
Please help!!

oll
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th July 2012, 04:08 PM
jlpierce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pekin, Indiana
Posts: 85
linuxopera
Re: DVD-rom and wine

This archived post may help you out: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/archiv.../t-246859.html

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2012, 10:38 PM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
Re: DVD-rom and wine

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpierce View Post
This archived post may help you out: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/archiv.../t-246859.html

I hope this helps.
jlpierce, Thanks but I try this a log time a go and do it again to day and it don't work. They say in that post that it worked for FC12 and FC13 but a lot have changed now for FC16 after this. So we need e new solution for this old problem.
Does any one have dvd or cd drives working in wine under FC16 or FC17? Please post how it is configured in wine configuration drives tab.

Does any one know how to fix this in FC16?

oll
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th July 2012, 12:16 AM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 925
linuxsafari
Re: DVD-rom and wine

Does it work when you first mount it via Cli?
When I mount an ISO via the Cli (mount -o loop) it automatically pops up in winecfg as a cd station.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th July 2012, 02:28 AM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
Re: DVD-rom and wine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
Does it work when you first mount it via Cli?
When I mount an ISO via the Cli (mount -o loop) it automatically pops up in winecfg as a cd station.
Thanks Dutchy,
Could you be more specific with the "mount -o loop" code? I'm not familiar to mount command as everything in Fedora auto mount. It look like something is missing. I'm looking to the man page but I'm lost in this one.
If I insert a data dvd like Fedora dvd it reports in winecfg, playing with this now to see how can it help.

Also I found something in Ubuntu forums using this mount command, but I still don't try it because this is Fedora not Ubuntu

oll

Last edited by oll; 16th July 2012 at 03:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th July 2012, 08:01 PM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
Lightbulb Re: DVD-rom and wine

Ok this is were I am now:

If I insert a data CD or DVD in my drives it mounts to /media/dvd folder and wine can see it.
If I do the same with an audio CD it mounts to something like "cdda://sr0/" which seems to be a virtual folder and wine can not see it. This cdda://sr0/ folder is not under / (root) tree and I think that wine need it to be mount under "/" tree.

So what we need is a way to mount the audio cd in a folder like /media or /mnt so it can be seen by wine. Or some sort of telling wine to see the "cdda://sr0/" folder. Nothing that I try works and I think that fedora is mounting audio CD's with other app, not the mount command.

Any ideas welcome, Is there any way to do this? Is this a bug in wine?

---------- Post added at 03:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:05 PM ----------

The main reason for open this thread is to be able to use EAC to rip my CD's. So I found a workaround to make EAC usable in wine. Here is in step by step:

1. insert a data CD or DVD in the DVD drive you want to use and let fedora mount it. It will mount to /media folder.

2. start EAC and it will see your drive.

3. eject the data CD or DVD.

4. insert the audio CD you want to rip and go on.

It will work as long as you don't close EAC, if you close it you need to start on step 1. If you want to use another drive then close EAC and start from step 1.

This is tested to work in FC16. I guess this is what other are doing but they don't explain it in an step by step ease to understand "how to" for the good of all.

If you know a better way to do this or a solution for this problem please post it here. Or if you are using EAC in fedora 16 or 17 with wine, please post here if you have the same problem and how you worked it.

oll

Last edited by oll; 16th July 2012 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th July 2012, 08:04 PM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 925
linuxfirefox
Re: DVD-rom and wine

With F17 It should be mounted in a sub folder of /run/user/$USER/gvfs/
For F16 you might need to take a look in ~/.gvfs (the mount points changed in F17 and I'm not really sure about the exact location of it in F16).

Btw. the mount -o loop thing is only used for mounting image files e.g. ISO's (as far as I know).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th July 2012, 03:38 AM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
Re: DVD-rom and wine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchy View Post
With F17 It should be mounted in a sub folder of /run/user/$USER/gvfs/
For F16 you might need to take a look in ~/.gvfs (the mount points changed in F17 and I'm not really sure about the exact location of it in F16).

Btw. the mount -o loop thing is only used for mounting image files e.g. ISO's (as far as I know).
Thanks,
Hmmm... it is actually in /usr/share/gvfs. It contains 2 folders with .mount files that point to an executable, here is the cdda.moun file:

Code:
[Mount]
Type=cdda
Exec=/usr/libexec/gvfsd-cdda
AutoMount=false
So we know now it is mounted using gvfs whatever it is. This folder is not actually the mount point.

Using gvfs-mount got this:

Code:
gvfs-mount -l -i

Drive(0): CD/DVD Drive
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorGdu)
  ids:
   unix-device: '/dev/sr1'
  themed icons:  [drive-optical]  [drive]
  is_media_removable=1
  has_media=0
  is_media_check_automatic=1
  can_poll_for_media=1
  can_eject=0
  can_start=0
  can_stop=0
  start_stop_type=unknown

Drive(2): CD/DVD Drive
  Type: GProxyDrive (GProxyVolumeMonitorGdu)
  ids:
   unix-device: '/dev/sr0'
  themed icons:  [drive-optical]  [drive]
  is_media_removable=1
  has_media=1
  is_media_check_automatic=1
  can_poll_for_media=1
  can_eject=1
  can_start=0
  can_stop=0
  start_stop_type=unknown
  Volume(0): Audio Disc
    Type: GProxyVolume (GProxyVolumeMonitorGdu)
    ids:
     unix-device: '/dev/sr0'
    activation_root=cdda://sr0/
    themed icons:  [media-optical-audio]  [media-optical]  [media]
    can_mount=1
    can_eject=1
    should_automount=1
    Mount(0): Audio Disc -> cdda://sr0/
      Type: GProxyShadowMount (GProxyVolumeMonitorGdu)
      default_location=cdda://sr0/
      themed icons:  [media-optical-audio]  [media-optical]  [media]
      x_content_types: x-content/audio-cdda
      can_unmount=1
      can_eject=1
      is_shadowed=0

Mount(0): Audio Disc -> cdda://sr0/
  Type: GDaemonMount
  default_location=cdda://sr0/
  themed icons:  [media-optical-audio]  [media-optical]  [media]
  x_content_types: x-content/audio-cdda
  can_unmount=1
  can_eject=0
  is_shadowed=1
We can see now that the mount point or location is cdda://sr0/ and it is virtual. Any ideas??

oll
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th July 2012, 12:27 AM
oll Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 41
linuxfirefox
Thumbs up Re: DVD-rom and wine

Problem with EAC solved which is the main reason for this tread. Never mind about wine. The solution is in EAC options.

Here is how:

1. Go to top menu in EAC GUI and select EAC
2. From the drop down menu select EAC Options
3. Select Inteface tab
4. Select "installed external ASPI interface"
5. Restart EAC.

Done, now EAC see all my drives.


oll

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cd-rom, dvdrom, eac, exact audio copy, wine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
make wine program shortcuts with multiple wine versions debo2011 Using Fedora 0 18th January 2012 06:12 AM
COMPLETELY REMOVE WINE (Wine + Itunes and Quicktime installation = Trouble) billyransier Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 16 19th November 2010 05:34 AM
Wine (not wine deskop) windows show no decorations with Beryl in F7 Thetargos Using Fedora 2 3rd February 2008 07:51 AM
Wine Half Life 2-CounterStrike Source; Is Wine CRAP? boyd98 Using Fedora 5 16th January 2007 11:19 PM
wine, wine-core, wine-tools GL1800 Using Fedora 4 7th July 2006 08:36 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:05 (Thursday, 17-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat