Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th July 2012, 09:39 PM
Azhar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
windows_vistafirefox
DNS on Linux

I have two Fedora VM, with DNS configured (almost) on one.

On DNS configured machine, i get the following output with dig

Code:
[root@fedora ~]# dig www.google.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1-RedHat-9.8.3-2.P1.fc15 <<>> www.google.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 45257
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 7, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 4

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.google.com.                        IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.google.com.         601813  IN      CNAME   www.l.google.com.
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.105
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.106
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.147
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.99
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.103
www.l.google.com.       300     IN      A       173.194.79.104

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
google.com.             169813  IN      NS      ns3.google.com.
google.com.             169813  IN      NS      ns4.google.com.
google.com.             169813  IN      NS      ns1.google.com.
google.com.             169813  IN      NS      ns2.google.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.google.com.         169813  IN      A       216.239.32.10
ns2.google.com.         169813  IN      A       216.239.34.10
ns3.google.com.         169813  IN      A       216.239.36.10
ns4.google.com.         169813  IN      A       216.239.38.10

;; Query time: 200 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.117#53(192.168.0.117)
;; WHEN: Sun Jul 15 01:32:29 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 284
and /etc/resolv.conf reads

Code:
[root@fedora ~]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by NetworkManager
domain mynetwork.internal
search mynetwork.internal
nameserver 192.168.0.117
nameserver 192.168.0.1
192.168.0.1 being my wireless router.

On the second machine, which doesn't has BIND or DNS configured
/etc/resolv.conf reads

Code:
[root@fed ~]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by NetworkManager
domain mynetwork.internal
search mynetwork.internal
nameserver 192.168.0.117
nameserver 192.168.0.1
and i can ping the DNS machine too

Code:
[root@fed ~]# ping 192.168.0.117
PING 192.168.0.117 (192.168.0.117) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.0.117: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.024 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.117: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=4.04 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.117: icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=5.87 ms
^C
--- 192.168.0.117 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2014ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.024/3.314/5.872/2.443 ms
but it does not uses my DNS machine to resolve the name

Code:
[root@fed ~]# dig www.google.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1-RedHat-9.8.3-2.P1.fc15 <<>> www.google.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27182
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 7, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.google.com.                        IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.google.com.         43096   IN      CNAME   www.l.google.com.
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.106
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.104
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.105
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.103
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.147
www.l.google.com.       196     IN      A       74.125.127.99

;; Query time: 8 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.1#53(192.168.0.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Jul 15 01:37:35 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 158
When i force it to use my DNS machine, i get the following output.

Code:
[root@fed ~]# dig @192.168.0.117 www.google.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1-RedHat-9.8.3-2.P1.fc15 <<>> @192.168.0.117 www.google.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
What am i doing wrong?

Last edited by Azhar; 15th July 2012 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th July 2012, 02:33 PM
Azhar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
windows_vistafirefox
Thumbs up Re: DNS on Linux

Code:
service iptables stop
And it worked fine...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2012, 03:38 PM
droidhacker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 827
linuxfirefox
Re: DNS on Linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azhar View Post
Code:
service iptables stop
And it worked fine...
Rather than stopping the firewall altogether, did you consider just forwarding port 53 through?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Linux Day 2011'' Bangladesh, Celebrating 20th Birthday of Linux ashickurnoor Linux Chat 1 5th September 2011 02:54 PM
Can a Linux LDAP server support Linux, Solaris, and Windows clients? Hiroshi Servers & Networking 1 19th February 2010 01:34 AM
Triple boot linux/linux/linux Steven.Buschie Linux Chat 1 15th December 2008 07:11 PM
Elite remake ported to Qt(KDE): Linux, MacOS X, Windows, Linux PDAs... abaraba Programming & Packaging 0 19th March 2008 04:19 AM
iPhone Linux, Apple TV Linux, Wii Linux, will they be real? Cookies Linux Chat 0 23rd January 2007 12:54 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:03 (Wednesday, 03-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat