Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th July 2012, 09:56 AM
panchal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trichy
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

I just installed mpd with mpc and gmpc, made some changes to mpd config and tried to update database with "mpc update" but it gives
Code:
error: connection refused
Further, when I open gmpc, I can't connect to localhost and I receive
Code:
error code 13: problems connecting to "localhost" on port 6600: Operation now in progress
I'd find a similar problem on arch forums but that didn't work for me. Is there any workaround to this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th July 2012, 10:40 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

Is the server listening on that port? Try
Code:
netstat -a -n | grep 6600
If it is then check your firewall settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th July 2012, 12:45 PM
panchal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trichy
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

No it isn't.
Code:
netstat -a -n | grep 6600
Returns nothing!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th July 2012, 05:57 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

Is the server running?

Code:
ps aux | grep mpd
Check the log file for errors and the wiki http://mpd.wikia.com/wiki/Configuration
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th July 2012, 07:45 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,602
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

Did you ever start the mpd daemon? You have to run the mpd command as root, I believe. Then you should be able to connect as any user with any MPD client.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th July 2012, 04:35 PM
panchal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trichy
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: Problem running mpd with mpc or gmpc

@george_toolan Yes, the server is running.
@RupertPupkin I had configured it so that it can be run without root privileges following these guidelines and making fedora specific changes but it wasn't working.
Anyways, I specified the address of the other machine running crunchbang and the stream works pretty fine!
Many thanks for replying!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gmpc, mpc, mpd, problem, running

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a problem about running rsh saicharantej Security and Privacy 5 8th April 2008 09:05 PM
A problem during ... running Beralus Using Fedora 7 4th January 2008 06:30 PM
Problem running PHP in FC5 jo3 Servers & Networking 4 21st June 2006 09:19 AM
FC5 gmpc problems LostSon Using Fedora 1 9th April 2006 11:21 PM
problem running yum topest_rex Using Fedora 1 19th March 2005 06:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:08 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat