Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th August 2012, 12:18 AM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Hi,

How do you get this hardware to work in Fedora 17?
What software to use?

Please help.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th August 2012, 08:34 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Is this the usb version of the card?

What happens when you plug it in?

Code:
lsusb -v

tail -f /var/log/messages
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th August 2012, 06:05 PM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Hi,

No, it is not the usb version of the card. My exact card is right here.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/DIAMOND-...&skuId=3404067

Your command lines above are for USB. Therefore, I did not include them with this reply.

May I ask what are the best softwares for watching TV from Fedora?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2012, 03:41 AM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Helps are greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th August 2012, 09:11 PM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
windows_7firefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

I have a few more questions.

1. How do I know if this piece of hardware is installed correctly with driver for it in Fedora?
2. Which are the best software for watching TV in Fedora?
3. If there is none, what I have in mind is installed windows version of Media Center that come with my hardware onto Fedora using PlayonLinux.

Quick opinion is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th August 2012, 12:59 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

You have to find a driver for this card first, but you might be out of luck.

TV software include kaffeine, me-tv, mythtv and vdr.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th August 2012, 02:57 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,810
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

First identify the cards PCI IDs with
sudo lspci -nnk
then post the relevant sections.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th August 2012, 05:47 PM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Thanks so much. Here is the information. Please teach me how to work with hardware.

01:00.0 Multimedia controller [0480]: ATI Technologies Inc Theater HD T507 (DVB-T) TV tuner/capture device [1002:ac12]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:b935]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th August 2012, 01:15 AM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

What if I install Windows XP on my Fedora's virtual machine?
Would my TV card work perfectly? I should be able to install driver for my TV card in XP right?
I think the TV processing would work okay right?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th August 2012, 02:26 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

Probably not ;-)

You would need a CPU with some sort of Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O like Intel VT-d and software which support it.

Please note the difference between VT-x and VT-d.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd October 2012, 05:50 AM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
Re: Need Help with Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD750.

I could not get the hardware above to work with VirtualBox.
I also understand what you mean now You were referring to pcipassthrough which I have just learned today.

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch0...pcipassthrough

Should I change from VirtualBox to anything else that might get my hardware to work? Should I tried something by the name Xen (Virtual Machine)? I heard it has different type of pcipassthrough also.

I also contacted the support team for my hardware. They said they do not have Linux driver for it.

Any hint is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, diamond, hd750

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diamond Stealth® X1550 PCI Express questions F.User_4_Life Hardware & Laptops 0 18th July 2008 02:00 AM
Diamond Speedstar A55 Youli Hardware & Laptops 0 16th February 2006 03:31 PM
Diamond Stealth 64 Video / S3 Trio64 / Video Playback nlippincott Hardware & Laptops 0 10th October 2005 05:50 PM
No Sound in FC4_x86_64 with MSI Diamond K8N jrkm81 Hardware & Laptops 0 20th September 2005 02:50 PM
Diamond S120 Radeon 9550 FC4 Display issues rezalas Hardware & Laptops 1 8th September 2005 10:13 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:40 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat