Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd December 2004, 09:53 AM
Brayn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Booting Ubuntu

Hey guys

Well first off im a total n00b at linux so plz be gentle.

Well I just installed ubuntu and got that up and running, so I then went and installed FC3 back on so that installed grub back on and I wont to know how I can edit grub so I can boot into Ubuntu, so if anyone could help that would be great
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2004, 06:03 PM
macemoneta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 913
We'll need to know what partitions and hard drives you installed each operating system into in order to figure out the necessary grub configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th December 2004, 02:42 AM
Brayn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
ok then,

ive got two hdd and on the first ive got windows, on the second ive got Ubuntu on the first partition and FC3 on the second

heres my grub.conf

# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You do not have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
# root (hd1,2)
# kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb3
# initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd1,2)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.681_FC3)
root (hd1,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.681_FC3 ro root=LABEL=/ quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-1.681_FC3.img
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th December 2004, 03:31 AM
macemoneta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 913
OK, your Ubuntu boot should look like:

Code:
title Ubuntu
root (hd1,1)  
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb1 ro 
initrd /initrd
The above is assuming that you have both HD on the same IDE cable. If not, change root=/dev/hdb1 to root=/dev/hdc1.

You can also boot Fedora and mount the Ubuntu partition to look at the grub configuration that it had created, and copy the relevent portion to the Fedora grub.conf. For example:

mkdir Ubuntu
mount -t ext2 -o ro /dev/hdb1 Ubuntu
cat Ubuntu/etc/menu.1st
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, ubuntu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can booting into fc9 from Ubuntu 8.04 grub? amfpg Using Fedora 1 9th January 2009 03:18 PM
Dual booting F10 and Ubuntu rugbert Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 25th December 2008 02:33 AM
Problems dual booting FC7 and UBUNTU Scrib Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 8th July 2007 09:24 PM
dual booting between Fedora and Ubuntu noobie_jhay Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th October 2006 11:07 AM
Triple booting; Ubuntu, FC4 & XPee JujitsuFreak EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 16th June 2005 07:16 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:48 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat