Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 6th December 2004, 11:25 AM
kumarannair Offline

Java applets plugin for Mozilla

Hello,
I am a newbie and now using Fedora Core 1 Linux on a Celeron 1.4 GHz machine. Ia am using KDE desktop. I tried hard to view a HTML page that contains a Java applet. (I installed Java sdk and it works fine)
I tried everything that I found through the posts in Fedora Forum and other sites.
But totally disappointed. (Including creating a symbolic link in the plugins directory)

Can anyone provide a right way for me?
I need only running a java applet that is within the context of a web page.

Please provide a web link which contain well-tesed rpms for the java plugin for Mozilla.
( I already tried one or two, but falied to get apporopriate rpm for Fedora Core1 on 386 machine)

A Linux Lover
Kumar
Old 6th December 2004, 11:59 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)

Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
You can download the Sun Java and follow their instructions from here: http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
I've used the self-extracting as well as the .rpm before without problems. Just make sure you think the instructions through as the version number in the example is old and you need to make sure you're pointing to the correct directory for java.
Registered Linux User #362651

Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Old 6th December 2004, 11:49 PM
taylor65 Offline

If you install synaptic first, then it'll install java with just a click of the mouse. In synaptic, the java package is mozilla-j2re.
Old 7th December 2004, 05:10 AM
kumarannair Offline

Dear taylor 65,
Thanks for your advice

If you install synaptic first, then it'll install java with just a click of the mouse. In synaptic, the java package is mozilla-j2re.
What does the synaptic means. Please explain. How will I get it?
Old 7th December 2004, 05:19 AM
zephlyn Offline