Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th December 2004, 12:22 AM
Luc4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
Not correctly recognized 160GB hd

Hi all. Right today I bought a new 160GB hd (WD). I installed it correctly and formatted it ext3. Everything seems to be ok. Now, I created two partitions, 50GB and 99GB, more or less. This all done with qtparted. Now, I mounted the partitions through fstab, but I found out problems with the dimensions.
One partition is correctly recognized as a 50GB partition, but the other is recognized as a 19GB partition, and in addiction it is written (in konqueror) that 9GB are already used (nothing is in the partition).
What could be the problem for you? Perhaps I've done something wrong editing the fstab?
I'm using Fedora core 3.
Thank you very much and hi all.

Luca
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th December 2004, 02:33 AM
jayemef Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Juniata College, PA
Age: 29
Posts: 629
Post your fstab please.

Also open a terminal and give us the output of the following:
Code:
df -h
__________________
- JMF
Registered Linux User #371168

+Fedora Core 3 - k2.6.10-1.766_FC3
+WindowMaker 0.91.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th December 2004, 07:13 AM
Luc4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
This is the fstab:

# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=/mnt/ext3 /mnt/ext3 ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/ext3b ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdb2 /mnt/ext3c ext3 defaults 1 2
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hdd /media/cdrecorder auto pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t ,ro,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom auto pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t ,ro,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t ,exec,noauto,managed 0 0

And this is the command you gave me:

Filesystem Dimens. Usati Disp. Uso% Montato su
/dev/hda1 20G 9,3G 9,1G 51% /
none 252M 0 252M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/hda2 56G 51G 3,3G 94% /mnt/ext3
/dev/hdb1 50G 488M 47G 2% /mnt/ext3b

It's strange. It doesn't show me hdb2. The 160GB new hd is hdb. hdb1 has 50GB, has 488MB used = 47GB free? But hdb2 (the 99GB partition) is missing.
Thanks for your time.

Last edited by Luc4; 10th December 2004 at 08:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th December 2004, 07:15 AM
Luc4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 35
There is another thing which is strange. For hdb1 konqueror say there are 46.2GB free, and that it is 7% used. But only 488GB are used. Isn't that strange?
Thanks again.

Luca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
160gb, correctly, recognized

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
160gb ipod Classic & Linux kennedyprojects Hardware & Laptops 8 28th August 2008 12:17 AM
SD card size is not correctly recognized using USB card reader and Fedora 7 garrett Hardware & Laptops 6 27th October 2007 10:53 PM
how to install fedora 4 in 160GB HD desheng Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 23rd March 2006 05:30 AM
Experience with 160GB hard disk Luc4 Fedora Focus 4 14th December 2004 12:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:33 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat