Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th June 2004, 01:04 PM
monkeypimp Offline

Fedora core 2 dual boot with 2 drives issues\

I am having boot issues with FDC2. First of all I have a promise sata 150 tx2plus controller card that has raptor drive that is my windows drive. I also have a drive on the primary ide as the master. I have installed fedora core 2 on the drive that is hooked to my primary ide cable. I did not install a boot loader. I would like to boot to windows regulary and only boot to Linux when i insert a boot disk. I have two problems with my installation however. FIrst of all I don't know how to make a boot diskette that will allow me to boot my linux installation. My second problem is that my windows installation will not boot if the linux drive is attached to the motherboard. If i unplug the drive it boots no problems. If anyone could help with these two problems it would be appreciated.

This is my first try at linux and I really want to learn but am becoming quickly discouraged.

MP

Last edited by monkeypimp; 5th June 2004 at 02:06 PM.
Old 5th June 2004, 03:38 PM
Jman Offline

For one thing, Windows wants to be on the primary master, hda in Linux terms.

A floppy boot disk for Fedora 2 is difficult, as it won't fit. However, you can configure the grub boot loader to make Windows the default. Post your /boot/grub/grub.conf file for the specifics (it's only readable by root).

Here's mine for an example (I have Windows on the primary and Fedora on the slave):
Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd1,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb2
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Fedora Core (2.6.5-1.358)