Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:10 PM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
GPG Keys

I just installed Fedora Core 3 to run as a web server running Apache but I am off to a slow start since I first want to patch my system to date using "YUM".

I need to download or install the GPG keys since I am getting:

Code:
You have enabled checking of packages via GPG keys. This is a good thing.
However, you do not have any GPG public keys installed. You need to download
the keys for packages you wish to install and install them.
You can do that by running the command:
    rpm --import public.gpg.key
I searched Fedora's site and found this but I am not sure if this is what I need and where it exactly goes.
http://fedora.redhat.com/about/security/30C9ECF8.txt
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:27 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
The keys and repos you may need are here.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:38 PM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
Ever see this before?

Code:
[root@localhost carlos]# gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/freshrpms.repo

(gedit:3681): GnomeUI-WARNING **: While connecting to session manager :
Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocol s specified are supported and host-based authentication failed.
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:40 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
All the time and it just means the you will get a blank screen in which you will enter the info you need to create or edit the file. Dont even worry about it!
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:47 PM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
I copied and pasted all the info as you mentioned but I am just confused when I get to the part in green where it says "This is my /etc/yum.conf for fedora updates".

I am assuming that I edit that file and remove what I see and just copy everything you have there only or do I add what you have in addition to what I had by default in that file?
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th January 2005, 08:53 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
In fc3 yum.conf and repositories files are separate....in fc2 everything was in the yum.conf itselt. All you have to do is copy and paste the informantion provided and nothing else. And dont forget to save it.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th January 2005, 09:09 PM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
Any clue on what I did wrong?

Code:
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: libxslt.so.1 is needed by package alchemist
Error: Missing Dependency: libFLAC.so.4 is needed by package gstreamer-plugins
Error: Missing Dependency: libexslt.so.0 is needed by package planner
Error: Missing Dependency: libxslt.so.1 is needed by package yelp
Error: Missing Dependency: libxslt.so.1 is needed by package xmlsec1
Error: Missing Dependency: libdv.so.4 is needed by package gstreamer-pluginsError: Missing Dependency: libdv.so.4 is needed by package pwlib
Error: Missing Dependency: libFLAC.so.4 is needed by package vorbis-tools
Error: missing dep: /usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages for pkg pyzor
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th January 2005, 09:21 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
For the moment just use the fedora updates to update your system and delete the repos you created by rediting them and comment out the info you pasted. I first do the updates and then create the repos. For some reason the new yum.conf its been a hassle for some people.

Re read the thread with the links and use enable=1 or enable=0 and so on....that you be your fix.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th January 2005, 07:59 AM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
Ok,

So now what I did was I went back to "ALL" the .repo files and left them blank as they were before I edited them but I did leave my yum.conf as shown in that link.

I will post back results from yum update.
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th January 2005, 09:59 AM
carlwill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: /US/FL/Orlando
Age: 35
Posts: 633
well its 3:58 a.m. and I have a Complete!
so I guess that worked but now that YUM works, I guess I don't understand why I should go back and change all the .repo files again? If yum works, shouldn't I just leave everything alone now?
__________________
It said install Windows 98 or better so I installed Linux...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gpg, keys

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the correct behaviour for multimedia keys/function keys? Dead1nside Hardware & Laptops 0 16th July 2008 01:28 AM
Keys not mapped correctly & missing keys. we6jbo Hardware & Laptops 0 12th September 2007 10:10 PM
GPG keys LinuxN00b Using Fedora 8 13th February 2006 02:40 AM
Signature keys, public keys... blockhead Using Fedora 1 24th September 2005 05:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:02 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Branca - Maritime Museum Ferry Terminal - Gusto Urban Cafe + Wine Bar - Cebu Business Park Photos on Instagram