Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th March 2004, 02:30 PM
Melio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Carolina, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 469
Post Fedora Supported Motherboards - AMD64 Based

AMD 64 3000+ Processor

MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R Motherboard

VIA K8T800 chipset + VIA VT8237

• 800/600/400/200 MHz FSB, AMD Next Generation CPU, Socket 754

• Ultra DMA 66/100/133, 3 DIMM of DDR266/333/400* up to 2GB

• ATX Form Factor, 5 PCI, AGP 4x/8x, 8 USB 2.0

• Serial ATA RAID 0, 1 (SB), Serial ATA RAID 0, 1, 0+1, ATA 133 RAID (Promise), IEEE 1394, 10/100/1000 LAN, 6-ch audio


Sound and lan works perfectly with fedora core 1!

Have not used SATA or RAID functions of this motherboard yet with fedora (probably never will, unless sata drives become larger and cheaper soon)

Last edited by Melio; 13th March 2004 at 02:33 PM.
  #2  
Old 14th March 2004, 11:11 PM
YourDoom123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
is that the only mobo? if so i am extremely lucky!!
__________________
Athlon64 3000 system@ 2.307 ghz
64-BIT ROCKS!!!!!!!!
OS: Windows XP, Fedora
  #3  
Old 16th March 2004, 01:30 AM
Melio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Carolina, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 469
No, there's several motherboards for the amd64 and fx type processors. I was hoping those with them would post specs on the boards so others could use this as a reference so they know what's available and what works with fedora
  #4  
Old 16th March 2004, 01:36 AM
ewdi Offline
Retired Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penguin Land
Age: 64
Posts: 1,939
with SATA it does not even load the installer
__________________
+ Visit My new blog
- [B]SlashGear US, SlashGear Japan, and
+Founder & Admin of www.fedoraforum.org

Follow me at http://twitter.com/ewdi

Laptop : MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz 4GB DDR, 20-inch iMac Aluminium/4GB RAM
  #5  
Old 16th March 2004, 11:41 PM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
UNsupported Motherboards

I guess I will put my motherboard here (although it doesn't work too well)

Chaintech ZNF3-150 NForce 3 Based Motherboard
  • IDE, usb, firewire, and gigabit lan all work flawlessly.
  • Silicon Image 3114 Raid SATA controller works after a custom compiled kernel with support for SilSATARaid using the Libata drivers.
  • Via Envy 24PT Onboard SoundYes! After some work with the ALSA devs, as of Alsa 1.0.5 this chip is now supported.
  • Card Readers- Can't get CF to work although I think one (or more) works (due to dmesg) yet I don't have the media to test it.
  • General Stability: Check plus, no major crashes.
  • Install: Flawless except doesn't install on SATA drives.
Overall I can't recommend this board as the sound is absolutely KILLING me (with frustration), when I get that resolved then perhaps I will recommend it.
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com

Last edited by Bana; 19th June 2004 at 06:08 PM.
  #6  
Old 22nd March 2004, 05:51 PM
ewdi Offline
Retired Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penguin Land
Age: 64
Posts: 1,939
I would recommend Asus SK8N, it's pretty decent, but you will need to worka bit for the SATA to work with fedora c1
__________________
+ Visit My new blog
- [B]SlashGear US, SlashGear Japan, and
+Founder & Admin of www.fedoraforum.org

Follow me at http://twitter.com/ewdi

Laptop : MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz 4GB DDR, 20-inch iMac Aluminium/4GB RAM
  #7  
Old 19th April 2004, 05:15 PM
twgray Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 9
Is there a howto for customizing the installation cd? I would like to add the patch for siI3512 SATA.
__________________
You live, you learn. Well, at least you live.
--Douglas Adams
  #8  
Old 19th June 2004, 01:54 PM
lauterm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canyon, Texas
Age: 39
Posts: 30
If you want SATA at install time...

If you want SATA at install time you might want to try a Chaintech VNF3-250. It is an NForce3 based mobo.

Complete Specs

Quick Specs:
nForce3 250
3 184 pin DDR DIMMs up to 2GB
5 PCI slots
onboard 5.1
4x/8x AGP
2 ATA66/100/133 channels
up to 6 USB2.0 (4 built-in)
onboard LAN RTL8100C 10/100Mb Ethernet
supports 2 Serial ATA devices with RAID 0/1

Mine works very well with FC2 for x86_64. I only reboot it when I want to load a new kernel. The sound and LAN worked from the start in stock FC2. I installed directly to my Serial ATA drive. Plus the board was cheap.

There is also a more expensive ZNF3-250. It also has firewire, Gb LAN, up to 4 Serial ATA devices, and onboard 7.1 sound. I haven't tried it though.
__________________
Matt
  #9  
Old 26th November 2004, 03:06 PM
rmdnet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Hi,

I installed FC3 Final on a Gigabyte GA-K8VT800 and it detected everything perfectly. However, I didn't try SATA, my HDD is ATA 133. Is a cheap mobo and works great with Fedora.

For more information: http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard...GA-K8VT800.htm

Bye

Rmdnet
  #10  
Old 26th November 2004, 04:49 PM
dtdark Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
AMD64 3500
Asus A8V Deluxe

everything is supported, but i havent installed on the sata disk. you need sata bootrom enabled in the bios for linux to use the sata disks.
  #11  
Old 26th November 2004, 09:26 PM
sornen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Gigabyte K8NSNXP-939
I had some problems to start with because I installed the memory as dual channel when it wasn't . My SATA drive works well, but I haven't got two hard drives so I havent tested the RAID capabilities.

The only problems seem to be with the updates which caused errors in the gnome desktop
But I reinstalled some packages and did (as suggested elsewhere)
su -c /etc/cron.daily/prelink
which appears to have fixed the problem.

Yes SATA needs to be turned on in the bios and then FC3 has no problem recognising the SATA drive.

Last edited by sornen; 26th November 2004 at 09:29 PM.
  #12  
Old 30th November 2004, 04:12 AM
john.leonard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
I'm running FC3, AMD 3200+, on an ASUS KV8 SE Deluxe using both SATA/RAID controllers.

I (finally) got RAID1/SATA working AOK on FC3. For a variety of reasons, it doesn't work out of the box, but with a bit of tweeking, I now have a /boot partition running on a SATA RAID1, and a volume group spanning two RAID1 arrays.

See the following thread in the HOWTO forum:

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=26912

Also, for a nice tutorial on RAID, see:

http://www.acnc.com/04_01_01.html
  #13  
Old 27th December 2004, 12:05 AM
vi11an Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Ive recently purchased two 248 Opterons and a Tyan K8W.. Has anyone had any luck with these running Fedora Core 3.. Im new to 64bit anything, and so far choosing an OS has been the hardest part.. Ive downloaded Windows XP 64bit to test it, but Id really prefer a linux solution for the setup.. (I run Fedora on most of my machines, Gentoo on the ones I can actually get Gentoo to work on) :P
  #14  
Old 27th December 2004, 04:48 AM
jpmills Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 34
Athlon 64 3200+
1 GB Corsair
Asus A8V Deluxe
2 x Seagate 80GB SATA
WD 120GB SE PATA

Installed WinXP First on the first SATA HD then FC3 on second SATA. CHanged the boot order in the Bios. Couldn't get the first SATA HD to be the second recognized, it had the WD as second when the second SATA HD was first. So I had to use map (2,0) (0,2) in grub instead of the usual (1,0)..... Everything worked, don't about audio I use an Audigy 2 ZS which works fine. Haven't installed the Nvidia driver yet for my FX5700.
  #15  
Old 28th December 2004, 11:34 PM
Eric R. Jensen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bana
Silicon Image 3114 Raid SATA controller works after a custom compiled kernel with support for SilSATARaid using the Libata drivers.
Hey Bana, I've been looking everywhere for 3114 SATA Raid drivers, but have only been finding them without raid functionality. Did you get raid working and if so which patch did you use? If I can get this working I will create a driver disk to allow for installation onto the controller while in raid mode.

Thanks,
Eric
Closed Thread

Tags
amd64, based, fedora, motherboards, supported

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good motherboards for Fedora 7 Arbitrary Fedora Focus 11 17th April 2008 06:48 PM
All in one motherboards that work with Fedora foofan Hardware & Laptops 6 29th January 2006 10:35 PM
Enabling Sound in FC3 on 915G based motherboards ranjhith EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 4th February 2005 05:11 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:12 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Tejakula Village Travel Photos