Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th February 2005, 02:46 AM
mnguyen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
How to login using GDM session type ?

Hi

I do not have GDM option in my options list at login screen (only GNOME, default, supposed to be GNOME, and Failsafe terminal).

How do I configure to add GDM into this option list ?
__________________
Dream Big, Reach High
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th February 2005, 03:40 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
GDM is the login screen, or at least the program that's running when it's showing. It isn't a separate window manager, like Gnome.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2005, 04:19 AM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
To expand on what Crackers said: GDM = Gnome Display Manager

gdm is responsible for delegating all tasks related-to or spawned by Gnome. It runs the Login Screen (gdmlogin), it runs the Session (gnome-session).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2005, 08:53 AM
Northern Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 55
It may help you to understand it a bit better if you take a look at

/etc/X11/prefdm

I changed the entry for GNOME from 'gdm' to 'metacity'. This means I still run GNOME but the underlying window manager is metacity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gdm, login, session, type

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GDM remember session type?? wave Using Fedora 1 4th January 2012 11:16 PM
login session selection daniel_I_l Using Fedora 4 25th December 2008 12:56 AM
How to change login prompt so user must type login name (instead of select from list) DennyCrane Using Fedora 1 29th May 2008 04:34 AM
I can't see the login screen and I blindly type my username and password geronimo Using Fedora 3 21st August 2006 12:48 PM
[FC4] Session lasted less than 10 s - cannot login! wonderpop Using Fedora 1 16th June 2005 06:17 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:58 (Saturday, 20-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat