Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th March 2005, 11:06 PM
confusednewuser Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
Question fc3 - where's gcc and automounting cd?

just installed core 3.

but when i type gcc the shell can't find it.

anybody know where it is so i can add it to my path?
also how do i add things to the global path pernamently, instead of putting it on everybody's .tcshrc?

also why doesn't the cdrom automount, it has a line in /etc/fstab about mounting it. anyone know what i can change it to, so that it might automount?

thanks in advance

john - confused, experience fedora core 1,2 but new to 3 user.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th March 2005, 09:39 AM
SaintKnight Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
The gcc in my FC3 machine locates at /usr/bin directory. Hope you can see it in yours.
If you want to add a global path to every user, try edit /etc/profile.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th March 2005, 04:53 PM
GrahamB Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Windsor, On, Canada
Age: 65
Posts: 104
Hi Confusednewuser!

See also your other thread: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=46660

Hope that helps.
GrahamB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th March 2005, 04:55 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
If you didn't install the development tools, then gcc isn't installed and you'll need to use yum/apt or the RPMs off of the CDs/DVD. This is true of all the development tools, including make.

As for changing the global path, you can add a file to /etc/profile.d which will be executed on each login.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th March 2005, 01:24 PM
confusednewuser Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
thanks,

yea i did a re-intall last night to try and get it all working and hey-presto i have gcc and gnatmake again.

will editing /etc/profile.d work with KDE / .tcshrc? what do i edit in profile.d, it's a directory? do i just type in something like $PATH=$PATH:/java/...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2005, 06:58 PM
GrahamB Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Windsor, On, Canada
Age: 65
Posts: 104
Hi Confusednewuser!

Yes. If you wish that /java/* directory added to your search path then edit .tschrc.

For the root user, use "vi /root/.tcshrc".
Do the same for /home/<your user name>/.tcshrc. Use "vi /home/<your user name>/.tcshrc"

It is more like:
PATH=$PATH:/java/... (There is no "$" in front of the first PATH. .. . . . )
export PATH (Export means that the new value of PATH, ie $PATH, is permanently available during that login session.)
Check the new valkue of path, use "echo $PATH"

Best regards
GrahamB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th March 2005, 02:56 PM
confusednewuser Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
editing the .tcshrc for every user is what i'm currently doing. but this seems a bad solution if, for example on a network, you had hundreds of users and you wanted to add one new thing to their path without changing their current .tcshrc.

hence i'm sure there must be a single file somewhere that allows me to set the path for all users.

does anyone know if what i'm saying is right and if so, what is this file i must edit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th March 2005, 03:58 PM
GrahamB Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Windsor, On, Canada
Age: 65
Posts: 104
Using a central /etc/tcshrc

Quote:
Originally Posted by confusednewuser
editing the .tcshrc for every user is what i'm currently doing. but this seems a bad solution if, for example on a network, you had hundreds of users and you wanted to add one new thing to their path without changing their current .tcshrc.

hence i'm sure there must be a single file somewhere that allows me to set the path for all users.

does anyone know if what i'm saying is right and if so, what is this file i must edit

Hi Confusednewuser!

I don't know tcshrc, but let's assume that basrc follows similar principles. (Instead of bashrc, replace with tcshrc!)

This is what every users .bashrc file contains. Note /etc/bashrc is a parameters file common to all users:
======================
root:merlin:/root: # cat .bashrc
======================
# .bashrc

# User specific aliases and functions
. . . . .

# Source global definitions
if [ -f /etc/bashrc ]; then
. /etc/bashrc
fi
=======================

What you could do is:
1) in the if-statement, test:
if [the /etc/bashrc is available from a central server]; if so then include its values using, ". remote:/etc/bashrc"
or:
2) you could copy remote:/etc/bashrc into local:/etc/bashrc on bootup of each local machine. Add this copy statement to /etc/init.d/rc.local.

This approach still requires that you edit each machine. But only once.

Hope this is usefull!
__________________
Bye
GrahamB
Registered Linux User #390687

Config: FC 6, PC1=(dead!), PC2=(server, IDE drives, RTL-8139, Audigy LS), router=(RP614v2), DSL-modem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automounting, fc3, gcc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC6 not automounting cd/dvd pjeeanah Hardware & Laptops 3 31st December 2006 08:44 AM
Automounting on FC5 ? Xavior Hardware & Laptops 10 2nd September 2006 08:32 PM
FC5 not automounting ej_fedora_forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 29th March 2006 05:35 AM
automounting usb armen Using Fedora 1 16th March 2005 04:56 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:31 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Mardan Travel Photos on Instagram - AVG Photos on Instagram - Living Room Travel Photos on Instagram