Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th March 2005, 12:03 AM
trenths Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Core 4 Test 1 media test fails

I'm having troublegetting Core 4 Test 1 cd isos to pass media test. I've tried downloading them from a different site and burning them at a slower speed but still fails. When I try to insall anyway the stall aborts, finding some error during the KDE installation section. I tried unchecking the KDE option on another attempt and still get install failure. Anybody else having similar problems?
  #2  
Old 27th March 2005, 01:35 AM
robghealey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA
Age: 44
Posts: 455
I could not get the media check to pass either, but my install went with no problems all the way through! Sorry, for not being able to help. My problems came after wards when gdm was screwed up. Once I updated gdm, everything else is just fine...
__________________
Sincerely,
Rob

"Deliberately choose to surround yourself with people that inspire you to greatness!"
  #3  
Old 27th March 2005, 03:08 AM
nandowong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
try

linux ide=nodma

on the install
  #4  
Old 27th March 2005, 04:40 AM
trenths Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Like where do I enter it? I've been doing the graphical install. You must be talking about using the text-based install.
  #5  
Old 27th March 2005, 04:30 PM
trenths Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Well, I finally got an installable set of discs created after redownloading files from the official Redhadt site and burning at half speed even though still they all 4 failed the media test.
  #6  
Old 27th March 2005, 06:22 PM
nandowong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by trenths
Like where do I enter it? I've been doing the graphical install. You must be talking about using the text-based install.
put the 1st disc in then turn computer on

then the fedora screen comes up and you can type stuff, like linux text , etc. if you just press enter then it will do a regular graphical install.

thats where you type it then press enter. it will lstill do a graphical install
  #7  
Old 31st March 2005, 11:56 PM
owakroeger Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 431
I'm having trouble getting discs to pass the media check, as well. For jollies, I tried to proceed with the install, but it hangs for a bit, the screen goes black, and I have to reset the computer to get out of it. This is the third burn from two different sources which have failed this way.
Once more into the breach? Or is there some problem with the disc1 files?
owa
__________________
owa
  #8  
Old 1st April 2005, 12:05 AM
trenths Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
I see where the media check fail problem has been submitted to bugzilla.
  #9  
Old 4th May 2005, 02:03 AM
Nlaak Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arizona
Age: 45
Posts: 1
FC4 Test 2 Fails Media Check

I am having the same problem. I downloaded the Fedora 3.91 DVD ISO and burned 3 times from 3 different mirrors. I download the 4 3.91 CDROM ISO's twice and have used 3 different burners. Disk 1 fails about 17% of way through. Disk 2,3 and 4 go all the way to 100% and then report fail. Im burning with Nero Ultra 6+ (latest) and slowest burn.
I saw in this thread to try turning off DMA or something. I will try that now and post the results.
 

Tags
core, fails, media, test

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora core 3 - media test failure chamikaramj Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 1st September 2005 05:03 PM
Media test passed - install still fails pc recycler Using Fedora 7 10th November 2004 11:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:42 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat