Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 7th May 2005, 11:05 PM
ntrsfrml Offline

How to install programs and building from source?

hey guys..i'm a total noob when it comes to Linux I installed Fedora C3 yesterday and can't get to play MP3 or install java/bit torrent clients etc. How do you install programs in Fedora? For example I downloaded Amarok-1.2.3 source and can't compile it .. Read the install file in the .tar which mentions something about typing something in the Base directory of Amarok distribution.. WTH that means? WHy can't it be simple as installing and double clicking programs in Windows XP?

Can anybody please help me linux noob with few installing program tips?

any help is much appreciated.
Old 7th May 2005, 11:59 PM
dwisianto Offline

http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_cor...notes.html#Yum
Old 8th May 2005, 04:02 AM
jonest Offline

The link given by the previous poster is good. I use apt instead of yum which is also covered in the doc. To give you a quick start approach, go to http://dag.wieers.com/packages/ and download the rpm files for apt and synaptic which correspond to your version of Fedora. Then install as root with 'rpm -Uhv *.rpm' if these are the only RPM files in the directory. Next, as root, issue the 'apt-get update' command which will get a listing of packages available. Next, run synaptic and the rest will hopefully be explanatory. Run the update regularly.
Old 8th May 2005, 04:04 AM
jonest Offline

BTW, most source installs are quite simple. download the file and unpack it. If it is a tarball (ends in .tar.gz) issue 'tar -xzvf whatever.tar.gz' to get a directory named whatever. Change into the whatever directory and issue the following three commands.
./configure
make
make install (need to be root)
This is typical, but you should read the README or INSTALL file prior to compiling.
Old 8th May 2005, 04:07 AM
jonest Offline