Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th May 2005, 07:30 AM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Question xwindows help on a Presario 2100

First off, thanks for helping! I'm trying hard but need some help.

I'm trying to get FC3 loaded on a Presario 2100. It's not been going so well. The gui intall doesn't work because the screen just goes blank. I got around that by doing a "linux text" install. (An odd thing happened, when I tried "linux noprobe" it still probed). After the install completed, on the first reboot I got the blank screen again. I tried cntrl+alt+F1, cntrl+alt+F2, cntrl+alt+F3, cntrl+alt+backspace and still got nothing. So I rebooted and edited the grub line and got to the command line in init 3. I got yum working and updated everything.

During the install probe I noticed that the monitor was not recognized. Here's the output from ddcprobe:

http://spedden.com/laptop/ddcprobe.output

I found a couple of posts in different forums that recomended different modifications to my /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Here's my original xorg.conf:
http://spedden.com/laptop/xorg.conf.orig

Here's my modified xorg.conf
http://spedden.com/laptop/xorg.conf

and now here's the /var/log/Xorg.0.log

http://spedden.com/laptop/Xorg.0.log

Simply put, can anyone help me get xwindows working? Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th May 2005, 04:29 PM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Sorry about the links - I posted that last night and then made some security changes because I notice some dork trying to ssh into my box and tightened up security a little to tight. I'll loosen things up a bit when I get home from work. That peeved me off pretty badly, any bloody ideas as to what to do to the punk trying to gain access to my server?

bart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th May 2005, 02:55 AM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Also, if it helps, here's the output of lspci:

http://spedden.com/laptop/lspci.output

Thanks,

Bart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th May 2005, 02:35 PM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Prior to installation I was running XP Pro SP2 with all applicable updates. Also, my BIOS is the most recent. Further, I defragged a gazillion times then ran Partition Magic. No that this will resolve anything - just taking the shotgun approach.

I have an ATI Technologies Inc. Radeon IGP 320M LCD.

Being brand spanking new to Linux I'm not sure if by X Windows you mean the "standard" FC3 interface you get when installing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th May 2005, 03:15 PM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Thanks for the response BearCreek!

I'm no linux guru either, just a java developer, so I can only give you a high level picture of what's going on. Think of the linux kernel as the foundation of the OS. You can apply different modules to the kernel to meet whatever your needs are. If you want a gui, you need a module that performs the "windowing" functionality. In unix land, Xwindows is the windowing engine of choice. So, if you are runing Gnome or KDE, it is running on top of (or possibly within) XWindows. Hope this helps a little. If you want some more info check out http://linuxfinances.info/info/x.html.

Here's the part where you can really help me. If you cd to /usr/X11 you will find a file named xorg.conf. This file is used to configure XWindows. If you could post the contents of that file here ,myself and others will benefit. This may fix my problems, it may not. But it's the next in the process of trying to get Fedora C3 running on my laptop unless someone else has a better idea.

Thanks Again!

Bart
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th May 2005, 07:48 PM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Hmmm. I've got an /usr/X11R6 directory. In that I have: bin, include, lib, man, and share directories.

In the /usr/X11R6/include I have a X11 directory.

So, /usr/X11R6/include/X11 gets me X... files out the wazoo. But no xorg.conf file.

More hmmm.

Welp, lookee here! An Actions > Search for Files... utility.

Seems it is in the /etc/X11 directory.

Looks like you would be interested in the Monitor section:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync...ugh whatta pain.

Sorry, gotta type all this in because I haven't got my wireless PCMCIA card going yet so I'm using a Windoze machine to type all this. Anyway, why don't you post yours and I'll tell you what is different?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th May 2005, 07:54 PM
JLF_65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 119
With many laptops, you won't get a display after installing FC3 until you update xorg and edit the config file. What I reccommend is when the first part of the install finishes and it's asking you to click "reboot", press Ctrl-Alt-F2 to get to a shell, then edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and change the video driver to "vesa". Then Press Ctrl-Alt-F7 to get back to the install screen and click "reboot". It should reboot and finish the rest of the install post-procedure (setting up a user, etc.) via the vesa display driver. Once you're on the desktop, click the flashing red ! and do a full update. Then try editting the xorg.conf for your video card driver and monitor specs.

Note 1: some laptops will hang if you try to update everything at once off the stock kernel. I usually update JUST THE KERNEL, reboot to activate the kernel, THEN update everything else.

Note 2: some LCDs are single frequency. For example, if you have Windows installed on the laptop and change resolutions, you may notice that every single resolution reports the same vertical refresh rate. This indicates a single frequency LCD. Mine was that way, and I had to go to Section "Monitor" and change the HorizSync setting to be 28.0 - 48.5, and the VertRefresh setting to 60.0 - 60.0.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th May 2005, 08:37 PM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Thanks Bear Creek. My original xorg.conf is posted in the first post, but here it is again.

http://spedden.com/laptop/xorg.conf.orig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th May 2005, 08:40 PM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
I'll have to try this when I get home, JLF_65. I didn't know about the cntrl+alt+F7, Thanks. Is there a way to determine what the fresh rates should be from with linux? (there's no more windows install on this laptop) - I'll try and check with the vendor, but we know how that goes.

bart
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th May 2005, 11:23 PM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
I've tried to access your page on two different networks and the browser just sits there (in Windoze). When I get to a wired network tonight I'll post the file.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th May 2005, 11:39 AM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
xorg.conf for the Presario 2100 follows:
----------------------------------------------------------------
# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "radeon"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "ATI Radeon Mobility U1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th May 2005, 09:00 PM
bartspedden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Superior, Colorado
Age: 38
Posts: 9
Thanks for the help everyone. I was not able to get FC3 working on my Presario 2100. I put about 30 hours into it and ended up going with Suse 9.1. Suse had some problems too with X. But after some digging around I was able to play with different display options and got it working with the VESA drivers. My laptop is back up and I can start coding again :-)

Thanks again,

Bart
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th May 2005, 02:50 AM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Workin' okay on mine. 'Course I do have...um, "issues."

But, for the most part, everything "essential" is up. Even got a couple Windows programs to work - sorta.

John
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th May 2005, 08:08 PM
labanjohnson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Hmm.. I'm a newbie to Linux too, trying it out for the first time on a Compaq Presario 1200-XL11. Having the exact same issues - text mode works fine but graphics mode always goes blank.

Is there a way to get to the shell prompt from GRUB?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st May 2005, 03:04 AM
BearCreek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Never had to mess with GRUB other than installation. Just insured that I configured for dual boot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2100, presario, xwindows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Presario 2100 No signal to External Monitor Rainey Hardware & Laptops 11 28th September 2008 07:27 AM
Compaq Presario 2100 -Fedora 7 thandabilli Hardware & Laptops 4 1st November 2007 11:11 PM
Compaq Presario 2100 d16174l4n63l Hardware & Laptops 0 14th May 2006 03:14 PM
Issues with FC4 on Compaq presario 2100 Ronai Hardware & Laptops 1 1st December 2005 12:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:06 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat