Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th May 2005, 09:48 PM
LaVacaLoca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
Question CUPS fails to load during boot.

Hi. I've only recently been having problems with cups. When booting, the computer freezes while loading the daemon. So I held in the power button and waited for it to turn off after staring at the screen waiting for it to move for about teh minutes. I rebooter into FC3 and forced the root filesystem integrity check, which passed. I went into interactive startup and chose to not start cups. Then everything else went fine. I went into the GUI printer configuration and removed all the printers there (FC3 had configured them automatically during installation). I don't know why cups did that, or if what I did by deleting the configurations for the printers would help. I'm afraid to restart my computer in non-interactive startup because then if cups fails I need to reboot and do another filesystem integrity check .Any light shed on the issue would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th May 2005, 09:55 PM
artklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

Try starting your computer without allowing cups to start and then type the follwing in a console shell to see if there are any error messages while starting cups:

su -
/sbin/service cups start

In a normal start of cups you should get the following response:

Starting cups: [ OK ]

Also check to see if the file /etc/hosts contains the following entries:

127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th May 2005, 10:45 PM
LaVacaLoca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
This is what my shell looked like, more or less:
---
$ su -
Password:
# /sbin/service cups start
Starting cups:
# cat /etc/hosts
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
#
---
It said "Starting cups:", but the "[ OK ]" did not appear; I recieved no warnings, however. And my /etc/hosts file does contain that line.

?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th May 2005, 11:08 PM
artklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Any errors encountered by cups are logged to the following files:

/var/log/cups/error_log
/var/log/cups/error_log.1
/var/log/cups/error_log.2
/var/log/cups/error_log.3
/var/log/cups/error_log.4

Look for any errors in general or any problems loading configuration files.

Also check to make sure you have the following services enables at startup (You can use the Service Management program located in the menu, -->System Settings-->Server Settings-->Service Management.)

cups
cups-config-daemon
messagebus
network
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th May 2005, 11:13 PM
artklein
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can also check to see if kudzu, the hardware detection and configuration program run at startup, has detected your printer correctly. Look at the file /etc/sysconfig/hwconf for the section for your printer. It will look like:

class: PRINTER
bus: PARALLEL
detached: 0
device: lp0
driver: unknown
desc: "Hewlett-Packard DeskJet 710 Series"
pnpmodel: DESKJET 710C
pnpmfr: HEWLETT-PACKARD
pnpmodes: SCP,VLINK
pnpdesc: Hewlett-Packard DeskJet 710 Series
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, cups, fails, load

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new to Linux eth0 fails to load at boot nic is rtl8139 Tgilyard Servers & Networking 8 30th December 2006 10:00 AM
FC6 x86_64 grub failed to load on /dev/hda, now dual boot fails GreyWizzard EOL (End Of Life) Versions 4 21st December 2006 06:01 AM
Loopback fails to load on kernel boot RaXeT Using Fedora 2 14th October 2005 02:52 PM
Newer kernels fail to load cups properly at boot LaVacaLoca Using Fedora 2 25th June 2005 05:19 AM
Network works at boot, then fails on load fleece Servers & Networking 1 7th April 2005 03:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:43 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat