Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th May 2005, 05:13 PM
raahi108 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
kernel panic while trying to upgrade kernel

Hello,

I had installed Fedora core 3 (from fedora website) on my Toshiba M45
laptop (with intel processor). It installed correctly, and linux was running fine (except
ethernet,wireless etc..)

The kernel it was using was 2.6.9-1.667

I wanted to upgrade the kernel, so i grabbed source code for
2.6.11.10 from kernel.org. I recompiled the kernel (without any changes)
using make bzImage/modules/modules_install etc..
and placed the new System.map file to /boot/System.map-2.6.11.10
and new bzImage to /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11.10.

I changed my grub.conf to reflect the changes -
---------------
WInXP
...

root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11.10 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img
-------------------

When i rebooted my system, and try to boot with new kernel,i got Kernel Panic..
Note that the old kernel works fine.

=======================
insmod: error inserting '/lib/scsi_mod.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
insmod: error inserting '/lib/sd_mod.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
insmod: error inserting '/lib/libata.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
insmod: error inserting '/lib/ata_piix.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
insmod: error inserting '/lib/jbd.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
insmod: error inserting '/lib/ext3.ko' : -1 Invalid module format
ERROR: /bin/insmod exited abnormally!
mkrootdev: label / not found
mount: error 19 mounting ext3
mount: error 2 mounting none
switchroot: mount failed: 22
unmount /initrd/dev failed: 2
kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
=========================


I am not sure if i did something wrong.

Thanks in advance,
Raahi.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th May 2005, 05:33 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
You have given your new kernel the initrd from the old one in grub.conf....
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th May 2005, 05:36 PM
peters Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 165
Lightbulb

Simple. You'll notice in your grub.conf line for that new kernel

kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11.10 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img


You will have to make a new initrd for your new kernel, you can't mix up initrd's and kernel images, each initrd consists of modules copied from the kernel that needs them. Use mkinitrd . There are many docs on that procedure. Reply if you can not find them.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th May 2005, 06:23 PM
raahi108 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks Andy and peters.
It solved the problem real quick!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th May 2005, 06:46 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
No offense but that was simple....
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th May 2005, 07:11 PM
raahi108 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
I am sorry for my limited knowledge..

i am new to kernel compiling & installing linux in general..

i browsed through the web and at most of the places
i didn't see they mentioning to make a new initrd (only system.map and vmlinuz) ..
http://www.linuxplanet.com/linuxplanet/tutorials/202/1/
http://www.kernelnewbies.org/faq/

so i thought invoking old initrd would be fine..

---------------

As a side question, when i try to upgrade my packages using Up2date, it still recognizes that
i am using old kernel (2.6.9) rather than 2.6.11.10 ...
I compiled the kernel using make bzimage/modules/modules_install and not using rpm. Is it due to this that the Up2date isn't able to recognize my new kernel?

Since i have already installed the new kernel, is it possible that i just download an rpm for 2.6.11.10 and Up2date would recognize it? or do i have to start over again to compile using rpm?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th May 2005, 07:55 PM
peters Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 165
Is there something wrong and/or missing from the kernel that is making you recompile it?? The newest kernel available is at http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...7_FC3.i586.rpm

Do you have a reason for compiling your own? Are you not aware of the yum update system?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th May 2005, 07:56 PM
AndyGreen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northants, UK
Posts: 2,026
Yes, RPM is blissfully unaware of anything you do outside of RPM.

What caused you to recompile the kernel? 4K stacks?
__________________
Freelance RedHat Certified Engineer - http://northantsIT.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th May 2005, 08:10 PM
peters Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 165
Wait, I think I know what you are looking for. Modules and support for wireless cards..

Please have a look at the Dag Apt repository.

http://dag.wieers.com/home-made/apt/packages.php

If you can, you can use it as a Yum source for RPMs, or download them manually and install them.

Search on that page for "kernel-module-", there are many installable wireless drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th May 2005, 08:15 PM
raahi108 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
My ethernet wasn't working.. The vendor for the ethernet driver required either to recompile the driver with kernel or install as a loadable module. I was trying to make it an loadable module using 2.3.6.9-677 kernel, but it failed with some errors (inline fn call etc..).
So i tried to get hold of 2.3.11.10 (using windows login /vfat partition) and see if it worked with the driver installation.

I was confused whether recompiling would be required for the driver installation to work, so just to be on safe side i recompiled it and then tried to install the ethernet driver as a loadable module, and it worked.

Now since my ethernet is working, i wanted to download all updates. But since i recompiled manually, its still seeing that i am running old ver of kernel. I will download the kernel rpms tonight and fix it.

Thanks for all your help!!

Last edited by raahi108; 24th May 2005 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24th May 2005, 08:38 PM
raahi108 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks peters for the link..

Yes, configuring wireless as well as other peripherals is my next step-
The link will be really useful..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kernel, panic, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to FC7 Kernel Panic Audiofreq Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 9th June 2007 12:58 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:59 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat