Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 28th June 2005, 05:04 PM
bohr Offline

samba file/directory permissions

Hi All

I have a FC3 running as a samba server. I have two people on XP pro machines that are sharing a directory. Both want to be able to read and write to the others files. If Person1 writes a Word file and then Person 2 tries to write/edit it, it gives a read only message. Here is my smb.conf share section

[private]
comment = private directory
path = /directory/private
valid users = Person1 Person2
public = no
writable = yes
printable = no
read only = no
browseable = yes
create mask = 0777

I have Person1 and Person2 in the same group and the private directory. What am I missing? Could it be who owns the private directory (which is Person1)?

Also, if Person1 creates a directory under the private directory it gives rwxr-xr-x permissions. How can i force it to make it writable? Many thanks!!!
Old 30th June 2005, 02:29 AM
SharedMedia Offline

Question SubDir..

Ummm... Hmmmm.. I once had this issue, however what I did (might work for you) is create a general "god - but not root" user not associated to private 1 & 2, create a general group like "shares" that owns a dir and give that general "god" user you made full 0777 rights. Then add private 1 & 2 to his/her group..

Kinda like a hierchy..

+ --------- General "GodUser"
++ ------------ owns the group "shares" / dir
+++ ------------------ private1 user is added to "shares" group
+++ ------------------ private2 user is added to "shares" group

Whomever creates items in the "shares" dir Inherits the same permissions...
Best thought I have at this time... very good question though.
Old 22nd August 2005, 07:38 PM
Brian W Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohr