Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2005, 04:16 AM
rockmen1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Can not adjust volume in FC4

My sound card is the old Creative SB Live,the system detects it correctly,but the volume never chages not matter you use alsamixer or the tool in gnome to adjust it.
I've tried installing alsa from the source code,upgrade to a newer kernel version,but still could not get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2005, 04:23 AM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
umm.. probably really dumb questions but i gotta ask becuase that card should be perfectly supported with FC: volume knob on speakers up? plugged into correct output?

you also might try runing alsamixer as root, i've found that i see mroe options that way on some cards. unmute everything and turn everything all the way up and try the sound from several different sources.. xmms.. noatun.. mplayer... try different output methods in xmms.. OSS, ALSA, ARTs... etc...

hope that helps
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2005, 05:13 AM
rockmen1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks for you help.
I've tried all you've mentioned,and I always use Linux as a root user.
Maybe that problem is related to the udev or dbus package,since beforce I turned into FC4, I used Magic Linux,with no suck packages,and the card worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2005, 07:10 AM
bytesniper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Abq, NM
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
...and I always use Linux as a root user.
wow.. you probably already konw this but im going to say it anyway.. that is just a really bad idea....
__________________
I am root. If you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adjust, fc4, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a new encrypted volume to existing volume group eifij Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 0 8th March 2009 12:14 PM
SB Live! 5.1 - Can't Adjust Volume rookcifer Using Fedora 1 25th February 2009 11:29 PM
Volume/mute buttons on zd8115 work but dont control the volume IronFox Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd December 2008 03:20 AM
can not adjust the volume under FC6 chenpeib EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 4th June 2007 08:28 AM
Can't find physical volume or volume group at boot vifa84 Using Fedora 3 4th February 2007 05:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:28 (Thursday, 31-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat