Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th July 2005, 03:52 AM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Problems with Dual Booting when installing Fedora Core 4

I am trying to dual boot Fedora Core 4 with Windows Xp Home and during installing it.

Automatic Partitioning

Could not allocate requested partitions:

Partitioning failed: Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions.

The following errors occurred with your partitioning:

You have not defined a root partition(/), which is required for installation of Fedora Core to continue

This can happen if there is not enough space on your hard drive (s) for the installation.

You can choose a different automatic partitioning option, or click 'Back' to select manual partitioning

Press 'OK' to continue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th July 2005, 05:53 PM
shuvorim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age: 35
Posts: 8
FC4 already told you all things in that error message. You may not have any available space for FC4 on your hard drive. Try deleting your last drive through the Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. It'll free some space for FC4. Now try installing FC4 with automatic partition. It should work now. Please note that FC4 will need at least 2.5 GB for a graphical desktop installation and a full installation will cost you about 7 GB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th July 2005, 09:59 PM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
I have one Windows Partition and what do you mean by deleting your last drive and I want to dual boot it with Xp.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th July 2005, 10:05 PM
vishnumrao Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, California
Age: 33
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahman
I have one Windows Partition and what do you mean by deleting your last drive and I want to dual boot it with Xp.
I assume you have only one single partition on your computer in which you have Xp.

Before you try installing FC4, go to your Xp boot and using some partitioning software create a new partion out of your one single partion. Then start installation of FC4. Then instruct FC4 to install on to this new partition.
__________________
Running FC6 on AMD64 3000+, Asus K8N Mobo, 1.5Gb PC3200 ram, Nvidia Fx 5200 128Mb Graphics card, SB Audigy 2 Value sound card, Two Samsung ATA 100 hard disks of 160 and 80 Gb,D-Link DWL-G510 wireless pci card and Creative Inspire P7800 7.1 channel speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th July 2005, 10:11 PM
shuvorim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age: 35
Posts: 8
Huh! Huh!! Funny!!! Never mind, but it was really funny!!!!

You want to install FC4 without giving it any space or what? Where will it reside then?? Okay, let's clear it. Did you mean that you have only one partition, which is C:\ ? So, I assumed that C:\ is your entire hard drive. Well Cheetah, you will need to give FC4 some space, and it looks you don't have any unused space left. You have two options now:

1. Shrink your current partition with Partition Magic or other reliable partition tool. Then try to install FC4.

2. Delete your entire partition and create new partitions while leaving some free space for FC4 to use.

If you choose NO#2, your current data will be gone and you need to install Windows XP again. Cheers!!!


** You should always post your detailed system configuration while starting a new thread. It'll help other people to guess what's going on ....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th July 2005, 10:15 PM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
What program could I use besides Partition Magic what about QTparted
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th July 2005, 11:19 PM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvorim
Huh! Huh!! Funny!!! Never mind, but it was really funny!!!!

You want to install FC4 without giving it any space or what? Where will it reside then?? Okay, let's clear it. Did you mean that you have only one partition, which is C:\ ? So, I assumed that C:\ is your entire hard drive. Well Cheetah, you will need to give FC4 some space, and it looks you don't have any unused space left. You have two options now:

1. Shrink your current partition with Partition Magic or other reliable partition tool. Then try to install FC4.

2. Delete your entire partition and create new partitions while leaving some free space for FC4 to use.

If you choose NO#2, your current data will be gone and you need to install Windows XP again. Cheers!!!


** You should always post your detailed system configuration while starting a new thread. It'll help other people to guess what's going on ....
]

Could you help me resizing with qtparted
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th July 2005, 12:12 AM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Would SuSE Linux let me resize it then Install SuSE then install Fedora Core 4 which will delete the SuSE partitions and make it dual boot.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th July 2005, 03:49 AM
cheetahman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
http://ca.geocities.com/zachandloric...windowsxp.html

would this site help me even though its meant for Ubuntu
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th July 2005, 06:49 AM
shuvorim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age: 35
Posts: 8
Good Morning Cheetah (it's morning in our country),

I never used any third party partition utility such as Partition Magic or QTPart. So I can't tell anything about them. I use either FDISK (which comes with Windows 9x CDs or you can search Google) or DISKPART (which comes with Windows 2000, XP CDs).

But they are not able to shrink your partition. They can just delete and create new partitions. So, I backup all my valuable data on some CDs and then use them.

Now it's upto you to decide. You can follow instructions described on that web site. But before taking any steps, backup your valuable data.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14th July 2005, 07:02 AM
Redo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 27
shuvorim is right about backing up your data to CDs or DVDs. Whichever method you choose to resize/format your hard drive, you need to backup the data! Even the most solid proof of resizing and reformating partitioning tools can leave you with nothing. The program could make a mistake or you could make a mistake and loose your backup data in an instant.

If you are going to pay for a commercial partitioning tool, you are almost better off buying a new hard for around the same amount of money.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, core, dual, fedora, installing, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core 6 Partition Problems: Dual-booting with WinXP Gerry_W Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 37 14th February 2007 07:05 AM
Dual booting 32 bit and 64 bit Fedora core 3 Crackazoid Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 24th May 2005 06:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:58 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Caffe Bene - Seed - The Boatshed, South West Rocks Photos on Instagram - Scientific Centre Photos - Terraza Cafe Photos