Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th July 2005, 11:06 PM
SDNick484 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
APM on a Dell LS running FC2

I picked up a cheap ultralight notebook on eBay the other day and have thrown on Fedora. It's only a P-III 400 and was built in 2000 so it's pre-ACPI. I originally through on FC4 but had problems with it locking up during the, "Initializing Hardware storage network..." phase, so I put on FC2 instead. Just about everything works great under FC2, so I've decided to move into getting Power Management working. I installed laptop-mode-tools via yum and turned on apmd (and disabled acpid both in rc[3,5].d and in grub). Now lapmode works well (I can definitely hear the HDD spin down) however something (I suspect either laptop-mode-tools or apmd) wants to force me to standby after about 2 minutes of inactivity when on battery. The problem is although suspend works (great actually), Standby does not. When it goes into standby, it fails and X stays open with the screen on but the computer is completely locked up. I've searched both /etc/sysconfig/apmd.conf and /etc/laptop-mode/laptopmode.conf and neither seem to offer an option to adjust either the length of time before standby or the ability to switch from standby to suspend. Any idea's what's calling standby?

Also, on a side note, suspend (when called via apm -s) wants the user to be root. I am using the gnome-battery-applet, but it can't suspend since I never log in as root. Is there a simple workaround for this (I imagine with setuid). Besides this, the laptop works great with Linux. The only other hassle was installing Linux in the first place (not because installing Linux was hard, rather because the laptop doesn't have a CDor DVD ROM ).

Thanks,
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st July 2005, 02:05 AM
SDNick484 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Well regarding my second question, fixing the setuid part was simple:

chown root /usr/bin/apm;chmod +s /usr/bin/apm

Now any user and call suspend. My bigger problem is still with what's calling standby. I believe I have a workaround, but if anyone has more info please post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apm, dell, fc2, running

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F10 on a Dell D600... issues when running off battery jonrpick Hardware & Laptops 5 10th April 2009 10:20 PM
I need some help getting a Dell 1525 up and running Tekno_Cowboy Using Fedora 3 10th January 2009 03:52 AM
Anybody running F9 on Dell Studio Series? jkm2a Hardware & Laptops 2 22nd November 2008 01:15 AM
network bridge from Dell running Fedora 8 to laptop running Vista asset47 Servers & Networking 2 6th April 2008 04:27 AM
Fedora 7 on Dell E1404 running ipw3945 Malachai Hardware & Laptops 3 24th June 2007 02:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:01 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Jojutla Travel Photos - Spijkenisse Photos - Eaubonne Photos on Instagram