Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 25th July 2005, 11:56 AM
morci Offline

rescue a broken LVM with a FC rescue disk

For some reason (HDD or controller failure, I guess) the ext3 FSs of my FC3 box are gone.
I can't even mount the FSs from a rescue disk.
It turns out that the LVM itself has crashed. I tried to activate LVM volumes by hand but vlm complains about non-matching ids.
Is there anything I can try, booting from a recue disk, in order to mount at least the LVM volume on the second HDD and see if my postgres data are still there or lost forever?

Thanks,
Davide.
Old 25th July 2005, 08:17 PM
tashirosgt Offline

I'm not a lvm expert but let me perform the service of clarifying what you want. Can you see the hard drives (fdisk -l) when you boot from a rescue cd? Did you format two hard drives as a single logical volume? Were they hda and hdb? Is it hda that failed and is your question whether you can access the information on hdb with a rescue cd ?

(If so, one pessimistic thread on such a topic is: http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthr...&highlight=lvm )
Old 25th July 2005, 09:09 PM
kg4cbk Offline

If it is a controller failure have you tried replacing the motherboard?

My understanding of LMV (which is not extensive) is that a logical volume defined under a volume group is treated as a single file system. If that logical volume is made up of several physical drives and one of those drives fails I don't think there is anyway to recover the data on the remaining drives short of using tools that read sector by sector and attempt to piece the files back together.

LVM is good for creating file systems that are larger than any one physical drive and to allow a file system to be grown or shrunk as needed.