Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th July 2005, 06:00 AM
majnam2002 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
gnome-search-tool

I get this when I try to run teh search tool in gnome:

Cannot execute 'gnome-search-tool'

Details: Failed to execute child process "gnome-search-tool" (No such file or directory)

I also get it when I try to run other gnome utilities like:

Cannot execute 'gnome-screenshot'

Details: Failed to execute child process "gnome-screenshot" (No such file or directory)

Gnome-search-tool is not on the install list and is not on the remove list for yumex, so what is wrong with gnome and fc4 64?

Thanks in advance,

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th July 2005, 11:50 AM
Danny Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 28
In the "Places" menu you should have a search for files item.

If you are trying to run this from a terminal, try using /sbin/ in front of the command, although in this case you would be better off using slocate.
__________________
Fedora Core 4
AMD64 4200+
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th July 2005, 04:41 PM
majnam2002 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Actually it was not there like it normally is, so I right clicked on the menu bar and selected "Add to Panel" then I went down the list and found the magnifying glass that represents gnome-search-tool and added it to the menu bar/panel. But when I click on it I get the error as I said above. Otherwise Gnome seems to work just some tools don't work.

Any ideas...?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th July 2005, 02:55 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Due to the handy -f query option for rpm I found that both these are in the gnome-utils package, which you should be sure you have.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th October 2007, 12:17 PM
radion Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman
Due to the handy -f query option for rpm I found that both these are in the gnome-utils package, which you should be sure you have.
Thanks for this tip. I had the same problem with gnome-screenshot and was solved after installation of the gnome-utils
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnomesearchtool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nautilus search tool problem Badar Abbas Using Fedora 0 3rd April 2009 02:30 PM
Problem with gnome-search-tool brunoadm Using Fedora 0 15th October 2008 07:57 PM
tracker search tool Wiles Using Fedora 0 22nd November 2007 03:26 PM
Is there a search tool out there other than BEAGLE!? Jim March Using Fedora 7 16th January 2007 11:49 AM
FC5: Beagle search & Gnome-screensaver Sam- Using Fedora 0 25th March 2006 10:32 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:14 (Wednesday, 27-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat