Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th August 2005, 04:20 AM
my7Fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Can FC4 recognize my CRT?

My CRT model is ViewSonic G72f+, in RH9, it can't be configured properly, but now I want to migrate to FC4, can it be recognize?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th August 2005, 05:51 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
I have no idea. If it doesn't you can choose a generic one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2005, 06:56 AM
Mesto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
yea it works, i have a similar monitor by viewsonic on my dads AMD system.
__________________
Mobo: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 (1022) :shades:
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.2CGHZ 800FSB
Memory: 1GB GamerPro DDR400 CL 2-2-2
Storage: 2x SATA 200GB Seagate Hardrive
Storage: 1 x EIDE 160GB Seagate Hardrive
Storage: 1 x EIDE 80GB Western Digital Hardrive
Videocard:Powercolor Radeon 9800SE @Pro
Power: Thermaltake 420Watt Powersupply (soon to be 500watts)
OS:Windows XP Professional w/SP2 Soon to be Dual Boot with Fedora Core 4 :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th August 2005, 08:27 AM
my7Fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesto
yea it works, i have a similar monitor by viewsonic on my dads AMD system.
which driver do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th August 2005, 09:35 AM
Mesto Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by my7Fedora
which driver do you use?
it just detected it during post installation it said

Video Card: Ati RAdeon 9800PRO
Monitor Viewsonic E70B

then my screen went blank, it configured X i think and then it brought up the installer.
__________________
Mobo: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe Rev 2.0 (1022) :shades:
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.2CGHZ 800FSB
Memory: 1GB GamerPro DDR400 CL 2-2-2
Storage: 2x SATA 200GB Seagate Hardrive
Storage: 1 x EIDE 160GB Seagate Hardrive
Storage: 1 x EIDE 80GB Western Digital Hardrive
Videocard:Powercolor Radeon 9800SE @Pro
Power: Thermaltake 420Watt Powersupply (soon to be 500watts)
OS:Windows XP Professional w/SP2 Soon to be Dual Boot with Fedora Core 4 :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th August 2005, 12:34 PM
huw-l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by my7Fedora
which driver do you use?
You don't need to worry about drivers for configuring monitors. All the Xserver needs to know is hte frequency range and resolution that the monitor can handle and it will work everything else out itself.

In general X is pretty good at supporting CRTs. But you might have to find some documentation about the characteristics of your particular monitor to get the best out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th August 2005, 12:39 PM
my7Fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesto
it just detected it during post installation it said

Video Card: Ati RAdeon 9800PRO
Monitor Viewsonic E70B

then my screen went blank, it configured X i think and then it brought up the installer.
It seemed the pre-install program didn't detect the driver properly, coz the CRT was not listed in the menu
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th August 2005, 01:03 PM
huw-l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 315
do you get an option to choose a generic crt? use that so that at least you will have a working X configuration. You can work on getting better resolution later.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th August 2005, 03:39 PM
my7Fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by huw-l
do you get an option to choose a generic crt? use that so that at least you will have a working X configuration. You can work on getting better resolution later.
yeah, I am just curious about why without the corresponding model.

by the way , how can I configure the driver if I work in the X
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th August 2005, 05:21 PM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by my7Fedora
yeah, I am just curious about why without the corresponding model.

by the way , how can I configure the driver if I work in the X
You can manually edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and enter the parameters you need into the Monitor, Device, and Screen sections as needed. You would need to restart your X server to see the results. I am pasting what is in mine below.

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Sceptre"
ModelName "X9 Naga II"
HorizSync 24.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Mad Dog Multimedia"
BoardName "NVIDIA FX5200 plus"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

The monitor I have is a flat-screen LCD monitor, but I had to do this manually for FC2 and FC3. FC4 did detect the monitor properly, but I was prepared to manually edit it again if I had needed to. In any case, I still needed to edit it to be able to use the NVIDIA driver.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 7th August 2005, 01:20 PM
my7Fedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks a lot, I just migrate from Windows, so it is a bit uncomfortable with the command line approach, but I will work hard for it because I really like it. And I think it has better performance than Windows!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crt, fc4, recognize

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to recognize new monitor? zabolots Using Fedora 2 21st November 2008 12:12 AM
getting fedora to recognize my psp. Dark Archon Using Fedora 1 28th November 2007 08:50 AM
Updater doesn't recognize DVD Thotheolh Using Fedora 1 26th November 2007 12:50 PM
F7 does not recognize LVM VG dan sawyer Using Fedora 2 18th September 2007 01:36 PM
Cant Recognize HD On Install bigedmiami Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 14th April 2004 01:49 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:26 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat