Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd October 2005, 02:38 PM
tseliot Offline

Unhappy Yum seems pretty slow

Hi, I'm a (happy) Ubuntu user and yesterday I decided to try FC4. It looked good but I had one problem (perhaps related to the fact that I'm a newbie in Fedora): yum seems slow.

1)Every time it try to install a program it updates the list of the repos (and this is slow)

2)the download takes too much time (I have a 4Mbit ADSL) ( if compared to Ubuntu's APT) (does it depend on the servers?).

I'm writing to know if my problems can be solved somehow. If yes I would put Fedora on my 2nd harddisk so as to learn sth about a good RPM based distro.

Thanks in advance.
Old 22nd October 2005, 03:05 PM
bitrain Offline

Quote:
1)Every time it try to install a program it updates the list of the repos (and this is slow)
Yes, it does this because the list with files is stored on your pc.
Quote:
2)the download takes too much time (I have a 4Mbit ADSL) ( if compared to Ubuntu's APT) (does it depend on the servers?).
That depends on which server you are. You can stacially choose a fast server, by default yum chooses a rondom server from the mirrorlist at fedora.redhat.com

Laptop: Nec Versa p550, Pentium M 1.86GHz, 1024MB ram, x300, 80 GB HD, bluetooth, 2915BG Wlan card
Desktop: Amd Athlon x2 4200+, 2GB ram, Geforce 7300GT 512MB silent, 160GB HD in a nice centurion 534 case :cool:
Old 22nd October 2005, 03:46 PM
tseliot Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitrain
Yes, it does this because the list with files is stored on your pc.
That depends on which server you are. You can stacially choose a fast server, by default yum chooses a rondom server from the mirrorlist at fedora.redhat.com