Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st November 2005, 04:56 PM
pliu59 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
sound card detected but can't play test sound and any other sound

Hey everyone,

I just intalled FC4 onto my laptop. The sound card was detected, but it won't play the test sounds nor any other sounds. Below are the specs for my sound card. Does anyone know how to fix this? thanks everyone!

vendor: intel
model: corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M)AC'97 Audio controller
module: snd-intel8x0

thanks again!
  #2  
Old 1st November 2005, 05:06 PM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,102
Have you unmuted the volume controls, the PCM one and the Master one ?
__________________
GStreamer XOverlay and VideoOverlay http://mndar.phpnet.us/gstreamer
  #3  
Old 1st November 2005, 06:31 PM
Twey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 867
Run alsamixer. If everything's muted, move along with the side arrows and move the indicator bars up with the up arrow (to the top for now, you can fine-tune it later). Press escape to exit. Try again.
__________________
Twey
  #4  
Old 1st November 2005, 06:46 PM
RaiWaN Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Hey, I've got the exact same problem, with the exact same sound card :P I've just installed Fedora Core 4 and right after finishing the installation, it tried to configure my sound card: it detected it correctly, and then asked if I could here the "Test Sound"... I couldn't PCM and Master aren't muted.
  #5  
Old 1st November 2005, 06:47 PM
Twey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 867
Did you use alsamixer?
__________________
Twey
  #6  
Old 1st November 2005, 06:48 PM
RaiWaN Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twey
Did you use alsamixer?
Yep.

I had this same problem on Kubuntu, if it's of any help.
  #7  
Old 1st November 2005, 10:22 PM
pliu59 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mndar
Have you unmuted the volume controls, the PCM one and the Master one ?
yea, both of them were unmuted. and is Alsa Mixer the same thing as the volume control? it says volume control and then it says alsa mixer on the title bar, so i'm assuming it is. it still doesn't play the test sounds.
  #8  
Old 2nd November 2005, 07:39 PM
callcbe79 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
I had the exact problem and here is what I did to correct the problem.

Go into volume settings > preferences and enable External Amplifier and check it. My sound started playing.

I did this on my DELL Latitude D600 laptop.

I am not sure whether I am telling the Menu names right as I am typing this from my office and using windows. So cant look up to exact names on linux.

If somebody still cant locate the external amplifier on volume settings let me know and I will type the detailed steps to do that.
  #9  
Old 2nd November 2005, 09:44 PM
pliu59 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Talking Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by callcbe79
I had the exact problem and here is what I did to correct the problem.

Go into volume settings > preferences and enable External Amplifier and check it. My sound started playing.

I did this on my DELL Latitude D600 laptop.

I am not sure whether I am telling the Menu names right as I am typing this from my office and using windows. So cant look up to exact names on linux.

If somebody still cant locate the external amplifier on volume settings let me know and I will type the detailed steps to do that.
Wow! thanks alot! I got it to work. is there any particular reason why the external amplifier has to be checked? is it just something you need to do for all PCs or is it just for laptops?
  #10  
Old 2nd November 2005, 09:49 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
I think just laptops. PC's have speakers, and I guess b/c the laptop's r built in they count as external amplifyers
firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
  #11  
Old 3rd November 2005, 03:52 PM
moulitsa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
where is the volume settings menu ?

I have the same problem you describe.. but I cannot find this menu.

I use KDE.

Thank you
  #12  
Old 3rd November 2005, 03:58 PM
pliu59 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
i'm using gnome, the volume setting for that is in the upper right hand corner..maybe for KDE it's somewhere around there, i'm not sure
  #13  
Old 3rd November 2005, 04:12 PM
moulitsa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
OK I logged on with gnome and here is what I get when I run the Volume Control.

"No volume control elements and/or devices found."

My soundcard is detected though.

Thanx
  #14  
Old 3rd November 2005, 05:42 PM
mndar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,102
In this thread http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=83270 , the person had a similar (not same) problem which was solved by updating udev. I think its worth a shot.
__________________
GStreamer XOverlay and VideoOverlay http://mndar.phpnet.us/gstreamer
  #15  
Old 3rd November 2005, 10:50 PM
wsonner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by callcbe79
I had the exact problem and here is what I did to correct the problem.

Go into volume settings > preferences and enable External Amplifier and check it. My sound started playing.

I did this on my DELL Latitude D600 laptop.

I am not sure whether I am telling the Menu names right as I am typing this from my office and using windows. So cant look up to exact names on linux.

If somebody still cant locate the external amplifier on volume settings let me know and I will type the detailed steps to do that.
worked for me too on my D600. Thanks man. Interestingly, when I had FC3 installed the sound worked fine...then didn't after installing FC4. Good find....
Closed Thread

Tags
card, detected, play, sound, test

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound card detected but no test sound playing Waffle Hardware & Laptops 7 20th December 2005 07:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:06 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat