Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st January 2006, 04:21 PM
wlaukaitis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Age: 42
Posts: 14
no serial port on IBM laptop

Hi folks!!

First post, thanks for taking a look!!

I decided to post this here because I am not sure if it is laptop specific or can be diagnosed as a general serial port issue.

I am trying to set up a kismet laptop. It is an IBM A21m and I am running Fedora 4 (1656 I think?) I have kismet working great (I am amazed at how sesitive it is) but I can't get the serial port to work for the GPS.It is set up in the BIOS as COM2 and IRQ3. If I do dmesg | grep tty the respose is:

ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A

I am not sure why it comes up twice.

If I do a ls -l /dev/ttyS1 I get:

crw-rw---- 1 root uucp 4, 65 Jan 21 03:34 /dev/tttyS1

I also did a chmod 666 and it did not help

If I do cat /dev/ttyS1 when the GPS is hooked up (to test I suppose) I get this response:

cat: /dev/ttyS1: Input/Output error


I have an external modem on the port right now I am 99%sure is is not a winmodem. I booted off a Knoppix 4.0 CD and the "cat" response is something like:

cat: /dev/ttyS1: Device or resource in use

I don't know where to look for the boot log to see if the serial port is "on" in Fedora, I know the cable works because it works well on the winblows laptop, I can't anything to work in minicom. There was an internal miniPCI modem that I have taken out. Is there an issue with IBM laptops? Do I have to link the serial to something else?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st January 2006, 04:40 PM
Crux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 281
See if THIS helps.

Google search words.
IBM A21m serial linux

GL!!!

p.s. Never trust a machine you do not build yourself.
__________________
If your problem get's solved, please let us know and share the knowledge.

Registered Linux User #404549
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2006, 04:51 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crux
p.s. Never trust a machine you do not build yourself.
Please Crux, do me the favor and post a picture of your selfbuilt laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2006, 04:56 PM
Crux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 281


It's a Kaypro by Premio PC's.. Yeah, a company I have worked for. They will send you the parts to build it yourself if you ask, and you can also change the hardware, and add-ons as you see fit.

However, you must be a real tech to do so.

Premio

Sorry, a smart post required a response of the same. LOL!!! Nice to have a good laugh on a Sat. morning, thanks a ton!!!

p.s. Runs any Linux distro like a champ..
__________________
If your problem get's solved, please let us know and share the knowledge.

Registered Linux User #404549

Last edited by Crux; 21st January 2006 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2006, 05:13 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
ok, you won this round
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st January 2006, 05:36 PM
Crux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 281
Yeah, just this one I am sure. However, I am not afraid to admit defeat.

You are correct.. Laptops are propriatary machines for the most part, and I long for the day that they are not.

Touche' my fellow Linux brother, and I pray we can help each other in the future. And I hope this fellow user get's his 1000111000101011111110001-port figured out. It rubs me wrong when peopl find boggles with Linux, however the tech support over M$ is unsurpassed.

Try to send and email to a developer of M$ Office when your spell checker throws errors. I have for Open Office, and got a 4 minute fix.

Linux/Open Source RULEZ!!!
__________________
If your problem get's solved, please let us know and share the knowledge.

Registered Linux User #404549
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st January 2006, 06:02 PM
wlaukaitis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Age: 42
Posts: 14
whopeee

Hi!


I think that did it, I enabled the ir and changed com1 to IRQ 4 to get rid of the conflict. When I booted Fedora and did the dmesg | grep tty I came up with 2 serials!!

It look like gpsdrive will work, I haven't actually taken it mobile yet, but I have a good feeling!!

Anway, thanks for the help and when I get mobile, I get you that report!!

<<side note>> I was getting fustrated with the Linux thing although I never gave up. I found good intructions which were a twist on the fedora core 3 and kistmet how-to. When everything was working as I was compiling and building I learned a lot about what was going on. I was most impressed because the instructions were for older builds and I was using newer stuff, everything worked just fine, this was the only issue.

Now if I can just find a way to ghost this thing!

Thank you so much!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st January 2006, 10:20 PM
wlaukaitis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Age: 42
Posts: 14
Um it didn't work. If I do cat /dev/ttyS0 should I get data?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st January 2006, 10:53 PM
wlaukaitis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Age: 42
Posts: 14
Nevermind, did a chmod 666 on ttyS0

works like a champ!!

how can I make the permissions persistant???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd January 2006, 07:40 AM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
/etc/udev/rules.d/50-udev.rules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ibm, laptop, port, serial

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serial port tarunuppal Hardware & Laptops 4 30th March 2008 06:11 AM
how to connect laptop to external display using the Serial Port anurags85 Hardware & Laptops 2 25th November 2007 04:42 PM
Serial Port not available on FC7, ok FC5 tcfordjakarta Hardware & Laptops 2 31st July 2007 07:38 PM
Need serial port on a PS3 thriftyrocker Mac Chat 4 14th March 2007 04:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:53 (Thursday, 17-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat