Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th January 2006, 12:14 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
logitech mx500 mouse buttons..

is there any way i can get the side mouse buttons to work on my logitech mx500?
i want to be able able to assign specific key strokes to the mouse buttons so i can use them in mohaa thru cedega
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th January 2006, 03:20 AM
axelseap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
yes it's easily done, firstly modify your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and modify your mouse section, mine looks like this
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Resolution"
        Option      "Buttons" "7"
        Option      "Name" "Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
        Option      "Vendor" "Sysp"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection
then modify /etc/X11/Xmodmap and add a line like this
Code:
pointer = 1 2 3 6 7 4 5
then your side buttons should work in games and also they work in firefox too
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th January 2006, 03:59 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
no good i'm afraid, makes no diff only 1 of the side buttons works i only really need both side buttons and the scroll wheel?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th January 2006, 04:07 AM
axelseap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
did u change any of the values? they should all be the same for your mouse except for the name of course. and di d u reboot or relogin i think u may have to do one of those, but can't remember
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th January 2006, 04:15 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
nope no changes, u usin usb or ps/2?
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Resolution"
Option "Buttons" "7"
Option "Name" "Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse"
Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th January 2006, 04:26 AM
axelseap
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
mine is usb. as long as u added that to xorg.conf and also modified your Xmodmap it should work, but check out this document google provided for me http://www.glaurung.demon.co.uk/info...500.howto.html
although it's written for xfree86 it should still work with xorg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th January 2006, 05:21 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
thanks for tryin 2 help ad a look n seems like a no go shame thought linux was bout ready 2b usefull to me so ttfn linux i'll b back when u can support exotic things like a mouse with more than 2 buttons
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th January 2006, 05:43 AM
Mat Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: lair of a unix daemon
Posts: 1,155
if you're not willing to sort it out e.g. put *some* effort in, then that's your problem, not linux' !!!



Mat
btw, my extra mouse buttons work just fine
__________________
Man will always find a difficult means to perform a simple task
(Rube Goldberg)

Having fun with Tcl at
Mat's Playground
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th January 2006, 05:46 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
woah i've spent 7 hr of my shift trying to fix it over the last week i've fixed many faults with fc4 how much effort do you want me to put into fixing! wut should be a simple thing to do the problem is with linux or at least with fc not with me!
btw do u have an mx500 and wut exactly do the buttons work in?

Last edited by darknightuk; 25th January 2006 at 05:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th January 2006, 05:53 AM
Mat Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: lair of a unix daemon
Posts: 1,155
I had no idea how much time you've spent on it.. I just saw you asking the question, getting one answer which didn't seem to work for you and giving up.

maybe I was to quick drawing conclusions.


no, I don't have a mx500, I own a Razer Copperhead (which is even newer than yours) and the buttons work everywhere I tried



Mat
__________________
Man will always find a difficult means to perform a simple task
(Rube Goldberg)

Having fun with Tcl at
Mat's Playground
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th January 2006, 06:15 AM
darknightuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manchester,UK
Age: 36
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat
maybe I was to quick drawing conclusions
you where trust me have tried every guide i can find i can only think this must be something in fc4?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27th March 2006, 06:27 PM
xhawk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Age: 31
Posts: 7
My config for Logitech MX518:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option          "Buttons" "7"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
        Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection
also I have this file /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/xmouse.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh 
# /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/xmouse.sh 
# Required for the configuration of a 5-button mouse 
/usr/bin/xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 8 9 4 5 6 7 10 11"
The buttons option doesn't change the fact that xmodmap watn's all the 11 buttons. Notice the order of the buttons in xmodmap!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th March 2006, 07:09 PM
BanditRider Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 67
My setup for the Logitech mx518:

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "Buttons" "9"
	Option	    "ButtonMapping" "1 2 3 6 7 8 9 10 11"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection
No xmodmap needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buttons, logitech, mouse, mx500

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F9 Logitech Mouse 4th/5th buttons event changes beatyrm Hardware & Laptops 0 5th June 2008 09:06 PM
Support for the extra buttons on Logitech mouse vulcan43 Hardware & Laptops 0 11th June 2007 05:41 AM
Logitech MX500/MX700 - Getting ALL Buttons to Work apox Hardware & Laptops 2 15th November 2003 08:05 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:28 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat