Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th February 2006, 02:15 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,144
Digikam Broke After KDE Update

I've found that after the KDE update the other day, Digikam is working but won't accept any new photos or create any new albums. Attempting to overwrite existing photos returns:
"Access denied. Could not write to digikamalbums://%2Fhome%2Fbob%2Pictures@/New%20Year%202006/dscn0349.jpg"
These pics are maintained in my /home/bob directory and I can paste new photos into the correct folders in this directory but they won't appear when viewed with DigiKam.

It would seem to be a permissions error, however I tried 'chmod 777 /usr/bin/digikam' and still doesn't work. Also tried uninstalling and reinstalling, still no joy. Funny thing is that I can modify existing photos (adding text, etc.) and the photos in my /home/bob directory are then modified. I've tried to use the Digikam Handbook, but it has no entries, although the Kipi Plugins handbook is fine.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th February 2006, 01:20 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,144
*bump* Well, let's see if there are any DigiKam people out there today. No progress on this end, BTW.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th February 2006, 02:21 PM
homey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 415
I don't know why the kde update caused problems with digikam as it didn't on my FC4 box.
Maybe, clearing out a few things would help. In my case, using kde, I tried this for you to see if it works.
Remove the hidden folder in your home directory ~/.kde/share/apps/digikam
Move any pics from the ~/Pictures and remove that folder.

Start digikam and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2006, 02:47 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,144
Thanks for responding. Well, tried that but still no difference. Remove and Install again, no change. Can't overwrite existing pics and additional ones are marked 'This Picture Isn't Stored On Local Host. Click This Label To Load It' - which does nothing. I've filed a bug report with KDE through DigiKam's website on this and hope that there's some resolution. Of course, there's always FC-5 coming soon....
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th February 2006, 03:20 PM
homey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 415
rpm -qa | grep digikam
digikam-0.8.1-1.fc5

Yep, when fc5 comes out of beta, that maybe just the ticket.
I think it rocks already!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th March 2006, 09:21 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,144
Just to finish off the thread - bugzilla was able to point me in the right direction today and it turned out that permissions had been changed somehow in some of my /home directories pertaining to the photos. A simple 'chmod -R 777' on the /pictures and it all works.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broke, digikam, kde, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update broke RPM Cole Using Fedora 0 4th September 2007 08:35 PM
digiKam and digiKam Image Plugins 0.9.0-beta1 urke Using Fedora 0 26th August 2006 09:43 AM
X11 update broke X on FC4 Tim Watson Using Fedora 2 6th May 2006 12:05 PM
USB broke after yum update pflnetws Hardware & Laptops 5 24th March 2005 03:39 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:23 (Tuesday, 23-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat