Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th February 2006, 03:05 PM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Post Installation .. problem?

Alrighty, here goes. I'm new to linux and just installed Fedora Core. (I tried slackware, but thought I'd give fedora a shot too)

I've installed dual-boot on one HD. It was the basic "desktop" package drom the DVD.

Now, the install seems go go without a hitch, and when I reboot my system and try to load Fedora, it goes through the boot process but the system seems to "hang" indefinatly when it reaches > Enabling Swap Space.... [OK]

I've tried to reinstall twice now in case it was just a bad go at it. But I get the same results each time.

My partitions are set up as: 1GB Linux Swap/ 20GB Fat32/ 19GB Linux

I can still boot into windows(ME) without any trouble... Dunno where to go from here.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th February 2006, 07:05 PM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Well, after about 8 hours of frustration I have narrowed my issues down some *sigh*

I can get as far as the "Initial Setup" screen in Fedora Core 4.

In order to do this I have to startup in interactive mode and say "No" when it tries to enable the "Sendmail" option.

However, after I go though the initial Firstboot process my system locks up completely.

I install the monitor, test the soundcard al fine, and upon flicking "finish" I end up locked at a blank brown screen. Mouse control is still active, but I am unable to cleanly reboot. And then things really get messed up and I get totally lost.

It has literally taken me HOURS to get this far. Could someone PLEASE help me out?

Last edited by driftwood; 19th February 2006 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th February 2006, 10:49 PM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Arighty, I may be talking to myself here, but call it the amazing advetures of driftwood and his solo mission to install linux.

I am, in fact, online, and running Fedora Core 4.

Turns out it was all something to do with my network adaptor. I disabled it all at startup and have now detected and reinstalled it all from the Desktop Environment.

So, I'm on the net... and I'm about to try and reboot... let's hope I can leave Win'doh! s behind and report back here from Fedora Core....

I'm just glad I finally got this far, I was close to wondering if this thing could fly.. out my patio door.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2006, 11:00 PM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
ok, everything boots up fine with the exception of one error message during bootup.

it reads as follows:

Could not look up internet address for ********.
This will prevent gnome from operating
correctly. It may be possible to correct the
problem by adding ******** to the file /etc/hosts

The ** are there cuz that's my real name showing there... I'd rather just be driftwood here..

Anyhow, I really have no idea how to do that. I'm gonna try though. But if anyone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2006, 11:23 PM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
forget that little domain name (yours) problem for a bit---won't hurt anything except email for a bit---
RELAX and just use FC for a bit--read some here on the forum about host name--changing etc..
surf net a lot--relax and have a cool one--surf some more.
Test out your new install and have a little fun first.
The hostname problem can be fixed later...
U R running--enjoy that fact before sweatin the small stuff..
Looks like an uphill battle ya had.....enjoy a bit before battleing the next problem...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th February 2006, 01:08 AM
LLS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah weekends are a bit slow on responses, but they might have just messed you up anyway. Good advice above from w5set and you have learned how to use this forum, don't worry, you will get great help with the hard stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th February 2006, 01:36 AM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Lightbulb



thanks all.

I've managed to get just about everything going smoothly now.

I've read the majority of help posts regarding mounting fat32 filesystems, and I have a few questions regarding mounting another drive.

As previously stated I have windowsME and now Fedora Core 4 running on my first (40GB) Hd.

Now, I use this HD for all my programs etc.. both for windows and now for linux.

I also have a 180GB slave drive formatted as fat32, this is my mass media storage unit. All my mpeg, Mp3, avi, .iso etc etc are stored there and I would like to have it mounted and visible here.

I am faily certain I have the mounting instructions right, and I know how to edit the fstab file correctly... broblem (lol) is that I don't know what the volume is labeled as!

since it is a seperate HD on a different IDE channel, would it:

still be labeled as an hda drive?

or would it be hdb1? (I only have the one partition on it btw)

I guess I could just try mounting hdb1 and see what happens... heh.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th February 2006, 01:58 AM
LLS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
One way to see is from root,
Code:
su
press enter with password then

Code:
 /sbin/sfdisk -l
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th February 2006, 02:23 AM
driftwood Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Thumbs up

got it! thanks a million! that surely pointed me in the right direction.

I think I'm beginning (hopefully) to understand how this really works.

I've read so much documentation today, been so frustrated, and yet.. strangely satisfied.

I'm just gladd my boss wasn't around to see me, I don't think I've ever worked 1/2 as hard at this at my job LOL.

Now, after nearly 12 hours of this.. my butt is kinda sore, and I'm off to bed.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th February 2006, 02:25 AM
w5set Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ark n saw out in the sticks
Posts: 2,316
good night..
tommorrow's another day...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th February 2006, 07:51 AM
gothika Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Fedora Partitioning

I'm trying to install Fedora but I also have Ubuntu on my second harddrive where I plan to put fedora. And on Anaconda would this work during the installation:

Auto Partition>Remove all Linux partitions[HDB checked off]>then on the next page it puts my Windows name as Other and if I cange that to Windows would all this work?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installation, post, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 8, first time boot problem- post installation kingkoti Using Fedora 9 4th January 2008 11:23 PM
Post installation problem; can't boot any OS. kosenki Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 17 7th August 2007 02:57 PM
xen guest post installation problem alton Using Fedora 0 23rd June 2007 02:58 PM
FC6 post-installation problem pathik EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 21st January 2007 12:45 PM
fedora 4 post-installation problem sickyouth Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 7th December 2005 03:50 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:51 (Tuesday, 30-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat