Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 19th February 2006, 03:05 PM
driftwood Offline

Post Installation .. problem?

Alrighty, here goes. I'm new to linux and just installed Fedora Core. (I tried slackware, but thought I'd give fedora a shot too)

I've installed dual-boot on one HD. It was the basic "desktop" package drom the DVD.

Now, the install seems go go without a hitch, and when I reboot my system and try to load Fedora, it goes through the boot process but the system seems to "hang" indefinatly when it reaches > Enabling Swap Space.... [OK]

I've tried to reinstall twice now in case it was just a bad go at it. But I get the same results each time.

My partitions are set up as: 1GB Linux Swap/ 20GB Fat32/ 19GB Linux

I can still boot into windows(ME) without any trouble... Dunno where to go from here.
Old 19th February 2006, 07:05 PM
driftwood Offline

Well, after about 8 hours of frustration I have narrowed my issues down some *sigh*

I can get as far as the "Initial Setup" screen in Fedora Core 4.

In order to do this I have to startup in interactive mode and say "No" when it tries to enable the "Sendmail" option.

However, after I go though the initial Firstboot process my system locks up completely.

I install the monitor, test the soundcard al fine, and upon flicking "finish" I end up locked at a blank brown screen. Mouse control is still active, but I am unable to cleanly reboot. And then things really get messed up and I get totally lost.

It has literally taken me HOURS to get this far. Could someone PLEASE help me out?

Last edited by driftwood; 19th February 2006 at 07:42 PM.
Old 19th February 2006, 10:49 PM
driftwood Offline

Arighty, I may be talking to myself here, but call it the amazing advetures of driftwood and his solo mission to install linux.

I am, in fact, online, and running Fedora Core 4.