Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 19th March 2006, 10:15 PM
bisctboy Offline

Home folder vs. root Home folder?

I'm trying to install a nvidia driver for a graphics card I just installed in my computer. I went to Stanton Finley's FC3 install notes page to get instructions. It seems very straight forward but when I reboot and log in as root, the downloaded driver "run" program is not in the "ls" section. I logged in with my normal user name and password and BINGO..there is the program I moved to my Home folder. I am a complete newbie to Linux and can not figure out where the root's Home folder is vs. my regular home folder. I was able to find a file named root in my system, but it will not allow my to move the "run" program for the driver to it. It tells me that I do not have permission. Where am I going wrong?

Also, I tried to run "sh *.run" in my terminal as a normal user and it says that I must be a root user to do this. But, as I mentioned before, the "run" program for the nvidia driver is in my user Home folder. Where is my root's Home folder and how do I move the "run" program to it.

Thanks,

Marshall.
Old 19th March 2006, 10:40 PM
w5set Offline

try in a terminal in your "users" home
su -
(the minus sign is important more or less amd has a space between the su and the "-")
this gives root path and priveleges
it will ask the root password--so give it
then run it from there with the "sh *.run" or whatever command
Old 19th March 2006, 11:11 PM
bisctboy Offline

Running the "sh *.run" command while I am the root looks for any programs in the root's Home folder that end in ".run". Unfortunately, the ".run" program (nvidia driver) that I need to run is in my users Home folder, not my root Home folder. I need to know where my root Home folder is and how I can copy the driver from my desktop to the root Home folder so that when I am logged in as the root I can run the program. Any idea where I might find this root Home folder?