Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th March 2006, 06:09 PM
b00st Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 264
Man, Firefox suddenly stopped working in FC5

Once the repos were set loose, I start installing the usual apps that I had for FC4. Now firefox doesn't load up. It says it's starting up, but then exit without any errors whatsoever. I'm kinda like wtf, reinstalled it about 4 times now and no go. Thunderbird loads up fine so I'm confuzled as to what the hell went wrong with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th March 2006, 06:11 PM
Shakes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 445
Can u give us a clue? What exactly did u install between when it was working and when it was not?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th March 2006, 06:21 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
run it from the terminal see if there is any output
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th March 2006, 06:47 PM
b00st Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 264
I figured out the problem, installing this broke firefox for me:

compat-libstdc++-33

The reason I installed that via yum was because I was following stanton-finley's setup guide. It's mentioned in the adobe reader section, I installed it and forgot to install adobe reader . I removed the above mentioned package and all is well again. Lesson learned, hehehe.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th March 2006, 09:40 PM
daihard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Age: 46
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by b00st
I figured out the problem, installing this broke firefox for me:

compat-libstdc++-33

The reason I installed that via yum was because I was following stanton-finley's setup guide. It's mentioned in the adobe reader section, I installed it and forgot to install adobe reader . I removed the above mentioned package and all is well again. Lesson learned, hehehe.
That's a little odd. I have compat-libstdc++-33 on my FC5 box as well, and Firefox works fine.
__________________
Registered Linux User: #281828
Fedora Core 6 (kernel 2.6.22.9-61.fc6) / KDE 3.5.8
Shuttle XPC SK22G2-V2 / Athlon64 X2 5200+ / 2GB Patriot PC2-5300 RAM
PNY Verto GeForce 7300GS / NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd March 2006, 02:43 PM
CBBaron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
I have the same problem since I install FC5. When I run firefox from a command line it exits immediately with no output (although I can run firefox -v and get the version "1.5.0.1").
I tried removing compat-libstdc++-33 with no change.
Any other ideas???
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd March 2006, 03:07 PM
b00st Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 264
Well, when i installed adobe read and it had been installed because of the dependencies and didn't find any problems afterwards. Dunno why it would do that in the first place though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th March 2006, 08:34 AM
DustyJ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Hi,
I upgrded 3 computers from FC4 to FC5. Firefox works fine on 2 of them but on the third machine the status bar says "Starting web browser" for a while, then nothing else happens.
I then used yum to remove and install Firefox, but it still doesn't work, so I'm using Epiphany on this machine.
John.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th March 2006, 08:39 AM
Zigzagcom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CALIFORNIA, yeah
Age: 87
Posts: 1,657
I just installed acroread per Stantons directions, including compat-libstdc++-33. No problems here.
__________________
Ziggy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th March 2006, 03:44 PM
DustyJ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Hi,
I don't think my particular Firefox problem has anything to do with Adobe Reader. It just happened when upgrading from FC4 to FC5. I've discovered I can start Firefox if I log in as root or if I do su -c in a terminal.
The other browsers like Epiphany work for a user or root.
John.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th March 2006, 03:58 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
I think the problem here is that FC4 applications and the download-from-mozilla-site version of Firefox were compiled with libstdc++.so.5. FC5 uses libstdc++.so.6. With a default install of FC5 you get the latter version of the standard C++ library, but not the former, which you have to download and install manually (any FC4 version for your architecture will do). A situation like this will allow you to run both kinds of applications:
Code:
/home/giulix%ll /usr/lib/libstdc*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   18 Mar 20 14:20 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.5
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 726K Apr 13  2004 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.5.0.5
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   18 Mar 20 14:31 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 -> libstdc++.so.6.0.8
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 927K Mar 10 04:34 /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.8
Anyway, if you try to install version 5 with version 6 already installed, rpm may complain. In this case, just force the installation (rpm -i --force).
hth...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th March 2006, 09:29 PM
DustyJ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks a lot for the info.
John.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th April 2006, 03:11 PM
DustyJ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Hi,
Sorry for the delay in following this up. (I've been using Epiphany for work, so I haven't tried Firefox.)
I've got the following in /usr/lib/
Code:
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root   root          27 Mar 24 02:21 libstdc++-20060203.so.7 -> ibstdc++-20060203.so.7.0.0
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root   root     1027860 Mar 10 06:09 libstdc++-20060203.so.7.0.0
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root   root      258288 Feb 13 07:49 libstdc++-2-libc6.1-1-2.9.0.so
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root   root      259468 Feb 13 07:49 libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root   root          30 Mar 29 23:46 libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 -> libstdc++-2-libc6.1-1-2.9.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root   root          31 Mar 29 23:46 libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 -> libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root   root          18 Mar 29 23:46 libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.7
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root   root      733776 Feb 11 15:20 libstdc++.so.5.0.7
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root   root          18 Mar 23 22:58 libstdc++.so.6 -> libstdc++.so.6.0.8
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root   root      949160 Mar 10 03:34 libstdc++.so.6.0.8
Should this be enough to run Firefox as a user? It runs OK as root.
Thanks
John
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th April 2006, 04:55 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
Shouldn't make any difference whether you run it as root or else...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th April 2006, 05:13 PM
Lluisanunez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 372
If Firefox runs OK as root, have you tried deleting (or moving) your user profile folders in ./mozilla/firefox/...whatever.default ?
__________________
registered linux user #317675
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc5, firefox, man, stopped, suddenly, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Suddenly Stopped Working on F10 obrien.dan Using Fedora 9 5th January 2009 09:53 PM
Sound suddenly stopped working plutus Using Fedora 9 10th August 2008 07:33 AM
3d suddenly stopped working Jesus Using Fedora 0 27th March 2007 02:48 AM
FC3 nfs suddenly stopped working gbaker Servers & Networking 5 2nd April 2005 01:13 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:21 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat